BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 07:10 GMT, Monday, 4 May 2009 08:10 UK

India name World Twenty20 squad

India celebrate in 2007
India won the inaugural World Twenty20 in South Africa in 2007

Defending World Twenty20 champions India have named their 15-man squad for the tournament in England in June.

Fast bowler RP Singh has been included, with fellow paceman Munaf Patel and wicketkeeper Dinesh Karthik missing out from the original 16-man squad.

RP has been one of the IPL's most successful bowlers, taking 12 wickets in six games for the Deccan Chargers.

India, who have warm-up games against New Zealand and Pakistan, begin their defence against Bangladesh on 6 June.

Meanwhile, Pakistan named uncapped left-arm pace bowler Mohammad Aamir and hard-hitting opener Shahzaib Hassan in their squad.

Off-spinner Saeed Ajmal is also included in the squad, despite being reported for a suspected illegal action after the second one-day international against Australia last month.

South Africa also selected a player who is facing an International Cricket Council investigation into his bowling action, in the shape of one-day vice-captain Johan Botha.

He is undergoing tests in Australia after he was reported for an illegal action during the fourth one-day international against Australia last month, but in the meantime he is eligible to play for South Africa.

Sri Lanka included Lasith Malinga in their squad after the paceman, who has been out of international cricket since the 2007 World Cup with a knee injury, proved his fitness in the Indian Premier League.

Selectors also selected uncapped all-rounder Isuru Udana and 35-year-old batsman Indika de Saram, but left out Chamara Kapugedera and Chaminda Vaas.

Bangladesh called up uncapped duo Shamsur Rahman, a 20-year-old batsman, and 19-year-old wicketkeeper Mohammad Mithun to their squad.

Left-arm spinner Abdur Razzak, who was suspended because of a suspect action and who underwent corrective action in Australia, also returns.


Print Sponsor

see also
ICC World Twenty20 squads
04 May 09 |  Cricket
Ajmal reported for suspect action
26 Apr 09 |  Pakistan
ICC to probe Botha bowling action
14 Apr 09 |  South Africa
Razzak banned for illegal action
01 Dec 08 |  Bangladesh
ICC World Twenty20 2009 results
21 Jun 09 |  Cricket
India win dramatic Twenty20 final
24 Sep 07 |  Cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.