BBC Sport cricket


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:39 GMT, Wednesday, 11 March 2009

Kallis appointed S Africa captain

Jacques Kallis
Kallis will skipper the side on a one-off basis in the third Test against Australia

South Africa have appointed Jacques Kallis as captain for the third Test against Australia on 19 March.

Kallis replaces Ashwell Prince, who was set to lead the side in the absence of Graeme Smith but stood down to focus on his new role as opening batsman.

Smith is out of the Cape Town Test with a broken finger, while opener Neil McKenzie and paceman Morne Morkel have been dropped from the squad.

Opener Imraan Khan and left-arm seamer Wayne Parnell have been brought in.

Australia hold an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series, so South Africa have opted to hand uncapped Khan his chance.

The 24-year-old, who plays for the Durban-based Dolphins franchise, is the leading run-scorer in the domestic four-day competition and made a century for a President's XI against the Australians in the opening match of the tour.

Chief selector Mike Procter admitted that picking two new openers - Prince played all his previous 47 Tests as a middle order batsman - was a gamble but said the selectors did not want to disrupt the established players filling slots three to six.

He added that Khan deserved a chance because of his performances at domestic level, while Prince had a good technique and was a good player against fast bowling.


Morkel, who has been inconsistent, is likely to be replaced by his all-rounder brother Albie, while Parnell, 19, will probably be named twelfth man.

Parnell captained the South African team that reached the final of the Under-19 World Cup last year and played in one Twenty20 international and one one-day international on South Africa's tour of Australia earlier in the season.

Procter also named a 15-man squad for two Twenty20 internationals against Australia on 27 and 29 March.

It includes two uncapped players in left-arm pace bowler Yusuf Abdulla and left-arm slow bowler Roelof van der Merwe.

Test squad: Jacques Kallis (captain), Ashwell Prince, Imraan Khan, Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Mark Boucher, Albie Morkel, Paul Harris, Dale Steyn, Makhaya Ntini and Wayne Parnell.

Twenty20 squad: Johan Botha (captain), Yusuf Abdulla, Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Johann Louw, Albie Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Roelof van der Merwe and Vaughn van Jaarsveld.

Print Sponsor

see also
Australia clinch series victory
10 Mar 09 |  Cricket
Australia in South Africa 2009
09 May 08 |  Cricket

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites