Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Monday, 10 September 2007, 19:21 GMT 20:21 UK
Ponting beats Pietersen to award
Ponting was named captain of the test and one-day teams of the year
Australia's Ricky Ponting has been named ICC cricketer of the year, ahead of England's Kevin Pietersen.

Pietersen was the only England player in the world one-day team of the year but Michael Vaughan was a surprise inclusion in the Test version.

Ponting was also named captain of the year after leading his side to their third successive World Cup title.

Pakistan's Mohammad Yousuf was the top Test player while Aussie Matthew Hayden took the one-day version.

"I am the first player to win this award twice in a row and maybe if I keep my head down there might be more around the corner," said a delighted Ponting after receiving the top award at the ICC ceremony in Johannesburg.

"I was happy with the way I have gone about things during the past year and I think we have lifted ourselves to a new level as a team.

"It has been an unbelievable 12 months of cricket and we should all be very proud with what we have achieved."


Aussie Shaun Tait was named top emerging player ahead of England's Ravi Bopara, Kiwi Ross Taylor and Saqibul Hasan of Bangladesh.

India's Jhulan Goswami was named women's cricketer of the year, beating England's Claire Taylor to the gong.

And Australia's Simon Taufel scooped the umpires award for the fourth successive year, with Mark Benson one of those to miss out.

Cricketer of the Year: Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Other nominees:
Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)
Kevin Pietersen (Eng)
Mohammad Yousuf (Pak)

Test Player of the Year: Mohammad Yousuf (Pak)
Other nominees:
Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri)
Kevin Pietersen (Eng)
Ricky Ponting (Aus)

Emerging Player of the Year: Shaun Tait (Aus)
Other nominees:
Ravi Bopara (Eng)
Shakib Al Hasan (Ban)
Ross Taylor (NZ)

Captain of the Year: Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Other nominee:
Mahela Jayawardene (Sri)

One-day Player of the Year: Matthew Hayden (Aus)
Other nominees:
Ricky Ponting (Aus)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Glenn McGrath (Aus)

One-day Player of the year for non-Test nations:
Thomas Odoyo (Ken)
Other nominees:
Ashish Bagai (Can)
Ryan ten Doeschate (Ned)
Steve Tikolo (Ken)

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Jhulan Goswami (Ind)
Other nominees:
Lisa Sthalekar (Aus)
Claire Taylor (Eng)

Umpire of the Year: Simon Taufel (Aus)
Other nominees:
Mark Benson (Eng)
Steve Bucknor (WI)
Daryl Harper (Aus)

Spirit of Cricket Award: Sri Lanka
Other nominees:
New Zealand

World Test Team of the Year:
Matthew Hayden (Aus), Michael Vaughan (Eng), Ricky Ponting (Aus, capt), Mohammad Yousuf (Pak), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Michael Hussey (Aus), Kumar Sangakkara (SL, wkt), Stuart Clark (Aus), Makhaya Ntini (SA), Mohammad Asif (Pak), Muttiah Muralitharan (SL), 12th man: Zaheer Khan (Ind)

World ODI Team of the Year:
Matthew Hayden (Aus), Sachin Tendulkar (Ind), Ricky Ponting (Aus, capt), Kevin Pietersen (Eng), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI), Jacques Kallis (SA), Mark Boucher (SA, wkt), Chaminda Vaas (SL), Shane Bond (NZ), Muttiah Muralitharan (SL), Glenn McGrath (Aus), 12th man: Michael Hussey (Aus)

Vaughan back where he belongs
30 Jul 07 |  England
Pietersen ready for bigger role
23 Jun 07 |  England
Pietersen relinquishes top place
08 Jul 07 |  Cricket


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us