Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Friday, 29 June 2007, 14:15 GMT 15:15 UK
Morgan named ICC president elect
David Morgan
Morgan has been chairman of the ECB since January 2003
England and Wales Cricket Board chairman David Morgan has been confirmed as president elect of the game's world governing body.

Welshman Morgan will take over as head of the International Cricket Council next May and serve until 2010.

The 69-year-old's appointment was approved at the ICC executive board's annual conference at Lord's.

Morgan, who will succeed South African Ray Mali, will be the first ECB official to hold the ICC presidency.

"I'll be discussing with the board the timetable of my exit and the timetable for the election of my successor. I would imagine I will have completed all my duties at the ECB by the end of September.

"Thereafter my priority will be to support current president Ray Mali for the remainder of his term in office.

"I am hugely grateful to Ray because it was one year ago that, as president of Cricket South Africa, he made the first approach to me to become a candidate for the role of ICC president," said Morgan.

A former commercial director of a steel company, Morgan joined Glamorgan CCC in 1980 in a senior marketing role.

A gentleman with great vision

ECB chief executive David Collier on Morgan

He held that position for 13 years until his election as club chairman and in 1997 joined the ECB board as deputy to then chairman Lord MacLaurin.

Morgan was seen as a safe pair of hands.when he was elected as MacLaurin's successor in January 2003 and has certainly been a conciliatory figure for most of his time in charge.

But he has not always been able to avoid controversy, attracting criticism for his handling of England's 2004 tour to Zimbabwe and for approving the sale of live TV rights to BSkyB in a 220m deal.

Both Morgan and India's Sharad Pawar were put forward as candidates for the ICC presidency at the beginning of the year, resulting in an impasse which lasted until a compromise was agreed when officials arrived in London earlier this week.

It will see Pawar succeed Morgan as president in 2010, a year before India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh co-host the World Cup.

"I am happy to pledge my full support to the ICC as we move forward together at an exciting time for cricket," Pawar commented.

Morgan's elevation was welcomed by David Collier, who has worked alongside him as ECB chief executive.

"The world game has chosen a gentleman with great vision whose skills will be of major benefit to the cricket world," Collier said.

"I am convinced that his style of leadership will unite the cricket family and positively lead the game to new heights.

"David joins a very elite list of British sports administrators who have led world governing bodies. ECB is very proud that David joins that elite group and we wish him every success in this exciting new role."

Former trades union leader Bill Morris, currently an independent member of the ECB's management board, has already been suggested as a possible successor as chairman.


  • Future ICC presidential terms to be limited to two years, with no option for an extra 12 months
  • ICC management instructed to draw up an international programme which limits the number of Tests, one-dayers and Twenty20 games sides may play in any one series; no team to play more than seven Twenty20 internationals per year
  • One extra fielder to be allowed outside the circle in the second or third powerplay of limited overs internationals.
  • Ball to be mandatorily changed after 35 overs of each innings in limited overs internationals
  • If a player bowls a front-foot no-ball in a one-dayer, the next one will be deemed a free hit
  • Minimum boundary sizes for one-dayers to be increased to at least 150 yards square of the wicket and 70 yards straight, instead of 140 and 65.

    ECB's Morgan granted third term
    14 Dec 06 |  England


    The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

    Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
    Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

    Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us