Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 30 April 2006, 10:55 GMT 11:55 UK
England lands Cricket World Cup
England celebrate victory over Australia
England last hosted the World Cup in 1999
England will host the 2019 Cricket World Cup and the second Twenty20 World Championship in 2009.

India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will share the 2011 World Cup after beating opposition from a joint Australia-New Zealand bid.

But the 50-over tournament will take place down under four years later as agreed by ICC delegates beforehand.

English authorities were told last month they could hold the 2019 event if they pulled out of the race for 2015.

An invitational Twenty20 tournament was planned for 2007 but as all 12 teams agreed to play in South Africa it will be the inaugural Twenty20 World Championship.

    Major ICC events 2007-2019

  • September 2007 Twenty20 WC, South Africa
  • September 2008 Champions Trophy, Pakistan
  • June 2009 Twenty20 WC , England
  • March 2009 Women's World Cup, Australia
  • April / May 2010 Champions Trophy, West Indies
  • Feb / March 2011 World Cup, Bdesh / India / Pak / SL
  • September 2012 Champs Trophy or Twenty20, SL
  • February 2013 Women's World Cup, India
  • May / June 2013 Twenty20 or Champs Trophy, TBC
  • April 2014 Champs Trophy or Twenty20, Bangladesh
  • Feb / March 2015 World Cup, Australia / New Zealand
  • TBC 2019 Cricket World Cup, England

The decisions still need to be rubber-stamped by the International Cricket Council annual conference in July.

England and Wales Cricket Board chairman David Morgan promised both the 2009 and 2019 events would play a major part in the English summer season.

"We entered into this process with the goal of being awarded a Twenty20 event and a World Cup," he said.

"It is great news for cricket in England and Wales that these two major events have been secured.

"We have a wonderful opportunity to build our international calendar around these showpiece occasions."

The joint Asian bid won the vote on 2011 by 10 votes to three even though, under the traditional ICC rotation, it was Australasia's turn to hold the event.

A lot of infrastructure needs to be put in place; we will do the task at hand
Lalit Modi
Indian cricket board

The Asian bid was also submitted late, the four countries having been granted an extension to 21 April to present their case to the ICC after failing to meet the first deadline in March.

Officials from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh admitted there is work to do over the next five years.

"We did a great job. The four countries put together an impressive presentation and we got 10 out of 13 votes," said Lalit Modi of the Indian cricket board.

"We are looking forward to it. A lot of work has to go in.

"A lot of infrastructure needs to be put in place. We are mentally geared up for it. We will do the task at hand."

I believe our joint 2011 bid was of the highest possible standard so I am naturally disappointed that we were unsuccessful
Martin Snedden
New Zealand Cricket chief exec

Australia and New Zealand shared World Cup matches between them the last time the event took place Down Under in 1992, with Pakistan winning the final in Melbourne.

New Zealand and Australia were dismayed to miss out on the 2011 World Cup but welcomed the 2015 event.

"I believe our joint 2011 bid was of the highest possible standard so I am naturally disappointed that we were unsuccessful," said New Zealand Cricket chief Martin Snedden.

"The 2015 Cricket World Cup will be a great event for Australasia.

"We have the infrastructure and capability and while 2015 may sound a long way off planning will soon begin."

England hosted the first three World Cup tournaments in 1975, '79 and '83 and the event returned in 1999 when it was won by Australia.

The event takes place in the West Indies for the first time in 2007.

Asia quartet agree World Cup bid
24 Feb 06 |  Cricket
England planning World Cup bids
17 Feb 06 |  Cricket
Cricket World Cup 2007 schedule
20 Jul 05 |  Cricket


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us