Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 31 July 2005, 15:28 GMT 16:28 UK
India cruise to win over Windies
Tri-Series, Dambulla: India 180-4 (36 overs) bt West Indies 178 all out (47.4 overs) by six wickets

Virender Sehwag
Sehwag bagged two West Indies wickets
India coasted to a six-wicket victory in their tri-nations one-dayer against a West Indies side missing the majority of their first-team players.

West Indies were reduced to 178 all out, a total India reached with 14 overs to spare.

Spinning duo Harbhajan Singh and Virender Sehwag took two wickets apiece against opponents who were missing 10 players due to a sponsorship row.

And Rahul Dravid was the pick of the Indian batsmen with a half-century.

West Indies captain Shivnarine Chanderpaul won the toss and elected to bat against the same India line-up that lost Saturday's opener against Sri Lanka by three wickets.

His side gave new caps to both Narsingh Deonarine and Denesh Ramdin, who rewarded that faith with knocks of 41 and 24 respectively.

After a slight rain delay, though, their team-mates at the top of the order struggled - the Windies crumbing to 32-3 after 13 overs before settling courtesy of Deonarine and Chanderpaul.

The pair put on 52 for the fourth wicket before Chanderpaul was trapped lbw by Suresh Raina, who had earlier run out Sylvester Joseph, and Ricardo Powell followed three balls later after being bowled by Sehwag.

That paved the way for a blisteringly brief knock from Dwayne Smith, who hit two sixes en route to 20 runs off seven balls.

But his blitz ended abruptly when he was caught by Mahendra Dhoni to become Harbhajan's second victim in what was Harbhajan's 100th one-day international.

Despite the fall of wickets, Deonarine managed to stay at the crease until the 42nd over before succumbing to Sehwag.

Tino Best and Ramadin gave West Indies a boost at the end with 24 apiece after Deonarine's departure to at least give their side something to defend.

India, though, rarely looked in danger of failing to reach the target even when Sehwag was trapped lbw by Jermaine Lawson with just three runs on the board.

Mohammad Kaif was then joined at the crease by Raina, and the pair put on a run-a-ball partnership of 65 before Kaif was caught by Joseph off Best.

Raina followed moments later off the bowling of Dwayne Smith before Dravid and Yuvraj Singh virtually assured the win.

Although Yuvraj lost his wicket late on, Dravid remained at the crease to steer India to victory.

India: Rahul Dravid (capt), Virender Sehwag, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Suresh Raina, Venugopal Rao, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra.

West Indies: Shivnarine Chanderpaul (capt), Xavier Marshall, Runako Morton, Sylvester Joseph, Ricardo Powell, Narsingh Deonarine, Dwayne Smith, Denesh Ramdin, Tino Best, Daren Powell, Jermaine Lawson.


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport