Pakistan coach Bob Woolmer believes the umpires correctly gave Inzamam-ul-Haq out for obstructing the field in the win over India in the first one-dayer.
The decision baffled Inzamam
Inzamam deflected a throw from Suresh Raina aimed at the stumps with his bat and was unhappy at the decision.
But Woolmer said: "We've chatted to the umpires and referee and, according to the laws, if a batsman wilfully stops the ball he can be given out.
"The question is whether it was wilful but I think the umpires got it right."
Inzamam was dismissed in controversial circumstances in the second Test against England last year.
The 35-year-old was incorrectly given out when he swayed away to avoid Steve Harmison's throw which hit the stumps.
He was initially confused by Monday's decision but later accepted it.
"It is true, I was not aware of how this rule works but I know now they were right in giving me out," he said.
"It is a strange way to get out and I guess the way I got out left me surprised.
Woolmer, meanwhile, was relieved his side held on to complete a win, thanks to the Duckworth/Lewis rule after a collapse nearly cost them.
Pakistan slumped from 201-1, chasing 329, to 311-7 before bad light ended the game in Peshawar three overs early.
"It would have been a tight finish but we chased a big total well and always kept ahead of Duckworth/Lewis.
"Salman Butt played superbly and it was just what the doctor ordered. His partnership with Shoaib Malik was perfect."
India captain Rahul Dravid felt his side had acquitted themselves well despite seeing them lose for the 11th time in 16 games to their neighbours.
"We could have done with a few more runs but the guys played their hearts out and it was a shame the game didn't finish," he said.
"It was a good effort, especially with the batting, although we could have got more at the end.
"The fielding was very athletic, the guys were keyed up and will take confidence into the next four games."