Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 17 January 2006, 11:27 GMT
Sri Lanka beat poor South Africa
VB Series, match three
Sri Lanka 282-6 bt South Africa by 94 runs

Kumar Sangakkara
Sangakkara helped Sri Lanka make a fine start to their innings
Sri Lanka unexpectedly threw the VB Series wide open with a 94-run win over South Africa at the Gabba in Brisbane.

Kumar Sangakkara's 88 from 109 balls set Sri Lanka, who lost their first match to Australia, on their way to 282-6 from their 50 overs.

Sangakkara and opener Jehan Mubarak (61) put on 112 for the second wicket.

Substitute Malinga Bandara, Chaminda Vaas and Muttiah Muralitharan claimed most of the South Africa wickets, whose top scorer was Mark Boucher with 62.

Sri Lanka, who were put into bat by South Africa after Graeme Smith won the toss, were given an excellent foundation by Sangakkara and Mubarak.

They batted together for 18 highly productive overs before Mubarak was trapped lbw by off-spinner Johan Botha (2-49).

Sangakkara was the fourth man out with the score on 211 in the 39th over, leaving skipper Marvan Atapattu (33 not out) to marshall some steady accumulation from the lower order.

The target was certainly achievable, but South Africa lost four wickets before registering their 100 and failed to convince at any stage of their reply.

The star of the bowling show for Sri Lanka was leg-spinner Bandara, who took 3-31.

Malinga Bandara
Bandara was in fine form

South Africa lost both openers cheaply and tossed away two more wickets with run-outs.

Ashwell Prince was first of Bandara's victims, caught by Nuwan Kulasekara after making a ponderous 29.

Dangerman Justin Kemp was next to fall, failing to connect with a big swipe as the ball ran on to hit leg stump.

And Bandara also took the final wicket of the match, when Boucher lobbed a catch to Tillakaratne Dilshan.

Only Boucher and Jacques Rudolph (53) had made any kind of impression with the bat for the losing team.

The VB Series is now finely in the balance with Australia, Sri Lanka and South Africa all having played two matches and won once.

Australia face South Africa in Melbourne in the fourth match of the series on 20 January.

South Africa: G C Smith (Capt), H H Dippenaar, H H Gibbs, J Botha A G Prince, J M Kemp, M V Boucher (Wkt), S M Pollock, A J Hall G J P Kruger, M Zondeki, Sub: J A Rudolph.

Sri Lanka: W U Tharanga, J Mubarak, K C Sangakkara (Wkt) D P M D Jayawardene, M S Atapattu (Capt), T M Dilshan, R P Arnold W P U J C Vaas, C R D Fernando, P D R L Perera, M Muralitharan Sub: C M Bandara.

Umpires: Aleem Dar and D J Harper

Boucher upsets Aussies in opener
15 Jan 06 |  Cricket
VB Series 2006
20 May 05 |  Future tour dates


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport