Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 14 September 2005, 11:42 GMT 12:42 UK
Flintoff nominated for ICC awards
Andrew Flintoff
Flintoff was England's Player of the Series against Australia
England's Ashes hero Andrew Flintoff heads the final shortlist for the prestigious International Cricket Council Player of the Year award.

Flintoff, man of the series after the 2-1 series triumph, has also been nominated for the One-Day Player of the Year accolade, with Kevin Pietersen.

'Freddie' was voted the Professional Cricketers Association Player of the Year in London on Tuesday.

Pietersen and Ian Bell get nominations for Emerging Player of the Year.

Confusingly for England fans, the nominations cover a period between 1 August 2004 and 31 July this year.

This means the last four Tests of the Ashes triumph were not included in this year's awards.

And it is also one possible reason to explain why Flintoff is not nominated as Test Player of the Year.

Australia's Adam Gilchrist, in woeful form during the Ashes, is the only man to be nominated in all three main categories.

The awards will be presented at a function in Sydney on 11 October during the Super Series between champions Australia and the ICC World XI.

Nominees were voted by a 50-member panel of current and ex-players and officials from among players selected by a committee headed by India's Sunil Gavaskar.


Player of the Year

  • Andrew Flintoff (England)
  • Inzamam-ul-Haq (Pakistan)
  • Jacques Kallis (South Africa)
  • Adam Gilchrist (Australia)
  • Glenn McGrath (Australia)

    Test player of the year

  • Adam Gilchrist (Australia)
  • Inzamam-ul-Haq (Pakistan)
  • Jacques Kallis (South Africa)
  • Glenn McGrath (Australia)
  • Shane Warne (Australia)

    One-day player of the year

  • Andrew Flintoff (England)
  • Adam Gilchrist (Australia)
  • Brett Lee (Australia)
  • Kevin Pietersen (England)
  • Andrew Symonds (Australia)

    Emerging player of the year

  • Aftab Ahmed (Bangladesh)
  • Ian Bell (England)
  • Dinesh Karthik (India)
  • Kevin Pietersen (England)
  • AB de Villiers (South Africa)

    Flintoff wins one-day award
    07 Sep 04 |  Cricket


    The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

    E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


    Back to top

    Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

    BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
    About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
    banner watch listen bbc sport