Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Saturday, 15 May, 2004, 15:30 GMT 16:30 UK
Sri Lanka tighten grip
Second Test, Bulawayo, day two:
Zimbabwe 228; Sri Lanka 443-1 (close)

Marvan Atapattu
12 D Bradman (Aus)
7 W Hammond (Eng)
7 B Lara (WI)
6 Javed Miandad (Pak)
6 M Atapattu (Sri)
Marvan Atapattu and Kumar Sangakkara shared an unbroken stand of 343 as Sri Lanka took total control of the second Test against Zimbabwe in Bulawayo.

The tourists were 443-1 at the end of day two with Atapattu 202 not out and Sangakkara 186, a lead of 215.

In his second Test as captain, Atapattu notched his sixth double century and his third trip into three figures in as many matches.

The tourists added 425 in 90 overs for the loss of Sanath Jayasuriya (48).

He was caught behind off Mluleki Nkala after driving at a wide delivery during the morning session with the total on exactly 100.

The rapid scoring rate contrasted starkly with the final stages of the first day's play when Atapattu and Jayasuriya managed only 18 runs in 13 overs after Zimbabwe were all out for 228.

Records are made to be broken and if it happens then it happens
Marvan Atapattu
Sri Lanka hit of 64 boundaries during the day, plus three sixes - two from Sangakkara's bat and one for Atapattu.

However, the stand was still well short of topping the Sri Lankan second wicket record 576, shared by Roshan Mahanama and Sanath Jayasuriya against India in 1997.

Zimbabwe had only themselves to blame with Sangakkara dropped in the covers by Tinashe Panyangara off Nkala before he had scored.

Skipper Tatenda Taibu tried seven bowlers, but with a combined total of 33 caps between them, they lacked the experience or guile to trouble top-class batsmen.

Atapattu's century took 161 balls, nine fewer than his partner, but it was Sangakkara who provided the rapid acceleration thereafter, racing from 100 to 150 in 46 balls with the help of 10 fours.

Sri Lanka were 270-1 at tea and the two batsmen proceeded to further dent the confidence of the home attack in the final session.

Having reached 191, Atapattu brought up his double with successive boundaries followed by a quick single to point off Nkala.

Sri Lanka's thirst for runs was finally satisfied and only eight more came from the final five overs of play before the umpires brought respite for Zimbabwe by removing the bails.

Sri Lanka lead the two-match series 1-0 after winning by an innings and 240 runs in Harare.

Zimbabwe: DD Ebrahim, MA Vermeulen, BRM Taylor, T Taibu (capt), S Matsikenyeri, E Chigumbura, A Maregwede, ML Nkala, DT Hondo, T Panyangara, T Mupariwa.

Sri Lanka: MS Atapattu (capt), ST Jayasuriya, KC Sangakkara, DPMD Jayawardene, TM Dilshan, TT Samaraweera, HAPW Jayawardene, WPUJC Vaas, MF Maharoof, DNT Zoysa, M Muralitharan.

Sri Lanka seize control
14 May 04  |  Cricket

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport