Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 27 April, 2004, 14:55 GMT 15:55 UK
Shadow Zimbabwe fall again
Fourth one-day international, Harare:
Sri Lanka 223-9 (50 overs) beat Zimbabwe 151 all out (43.4 overs) by 72 runs

Sangakkara hits out
Sangakkara hit 63 and was involved in five dismissals

Wicket-keeper Kumar Sangakkara starred as Sri Lanka recorded a fourth one-day victory over Zimbabwe, by 72 runs.

Sangakkara top-scored with 63 as the touring side reached 223-9, despite figures of 3-50 from Mluleki Nkala.

And was he was then involved in five dismissals, with three batsmen edging behind, opener Brendan Taylor stumped for 38 and Prosper Utseya run out.

Zimbabwe's shadow side, with 15 leading players unavailable, were bowled out for 151 in 43.4 overs.

First-choice batsman Dion Ebrahim made a patient, unbeaten 50 but was deprived of partners by a Sri Lanka team resting bowlers Chaminda Vaas, Muttiah Muralitharan and Nuwan Zoysa.

Skipper Marvan Atapattu and opener Sanath Jaysuriya were also missing from the team, which was led for the first time by Mahela Jayawardene.

Two-thirds of our game was right today - I thought we bowled and fielded well
Tatenda Taibu

Home skipper Tatenda Taibu chose to put the tourists in following the humiliation of his side being bowled out for 35 on Sunday.

Sangakkara faced 100 balls and hit seven fours but it took an innings of 51 off 55 balls by Upul Chandana to see the total past 200 on a slow pitch.

Sangakkara was helped first by Saman Jayantha and then Jayawardene to add 106 for the first two wickets.

Tawanda Mupariwa dismissed both men, having Jayantha caught at cover for 23 and bowling Jayawardene for 26 to prompt a slump to 137-5.

Sangakkara and Thilina Kandamby both fell to Nkala in the space of four deliveries.

Mluleki Nkala
Nkala's figures were his best in a one-day international
After a 43-run seventh-wicket stand, Taibu ran out both Farveez Maharoof (19) and Chandana to quell the end of the innings.

In reply the hosts looked to bat through their innings, worrying little about the run rate, but even that was a doomed venture.

Taylor, the only white player in the team, was patient early and Ebrahim nursed the tail.

The two men put on 43 for the third wicket before Taylor chased a sharply turning Chandana leg-break in the 19th over.

Pace bowler Maharoof claimed the final two wickets in the space of three deliveries to finish the job.

Zimbabwe: Tatenda Taibu (capt; wkt), Brendan Taylor, Dion Ebrahim, Stuart Matsikenyere, Alester Magwedere, Mluleki Nkala, Elton Chigumbura, Tawanda Mpariwa, Propser Utseya, Douglas Hondo, Tinashe Panyangara.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Saman Jayantha, Kumar Sangakkara (wkt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Russel Arnold, Thilina Kandamby, Dilhara Fernando, Nuwan Kulasekara, Farveez Maharoof, Upul Chandana, Rangana Herath.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport