Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 25 April, 2004, 09:07 GMT 10:07 UK
Sri Lanka rout Zimbabwe
Third one-day International, Harare: Zimbabwe 35 all out (18 overs) v Sri Lanka 40-1 (9.2 overs)

Tatenda Taibu
Taibu was out for a first-ball duck
Sri Lanka won the third one-day international by nine wickets after bowling a second-string Zimbabwe out for a world record low of 35.

Zimbabwe capitulated in 18 overs in an innings in which there were four ducks and no-one made double figures.

Fast bowler Chaminda Vaas took 4-12, passing 300 one-day wickets in the process, and Faveez Maharoof 3-3.

The previous lowest total was 36 when Sri Lanka routed Canada in the 2003 World Cup.

35: Zimbabwe v Sri Lanka, 2004
36: Canada v Sri Lanka, 2003
38: Zimbabwe v Sri Lanka, 2001-2
43: Pakistan v West Indies, 1992-93
45: Canada v England, 1979
45: Namibia v Australia, 2003
Sri Lanka made three changes to the side which won the second one-day international.

Spinner Rangana Herath made his debut alongside Maharoof, with star spinner Muttiah Muralitharan and Upul Chandana both rested.

Fast bowler Nuwan Zoysa dropped out in favour of Dilhara Fernando.

And after winning the toss and putting Zimbabwe into bat, they wasted little time in bowling the home side out.

Herath ran out Stuart Matsikenyere for four and then Fernando took the first of his two wickets when top-scorer Dion Ebrahim was out for seven.

Captain Tatenda Taibu was out first ball and Elton Chigumbura also failed to trouble the scorers.

Sri Lanka set about passing the miserly total in gusto fashion, although Russel Arnold was out for six, caught behind off Doug Hondo's bowling.

But Saman Jayantha, 28 not out, and Mahela Jayawardene, three not out, steered Sri Lanka home in the 10th over.

Zimbabwe were without 15 leading players, who were continuing to demand the reinstatement of Heath Streak as captain, changes to the national selection panel and what they consider a suitable system for solving player grievances.

Zimbabwe: V Sibanda, B R M Taylor, D D Ebrahim, T Taibu (Capt, Wkt) E Chigumbura, S Matsikenyeri, T Panyangara, M L Nkala, A Maregwede, D T Hondo, P Utseya.

Sri Lanka: S Jayantha, S T Jayasuriya, M S Atapattu (Capt), K C Sangakkara (Wkt), D P M D Jayawardene, T M Dilshan, R P Arnold, W P U J C Vaas, M F Maharoof, C R D Fernando, H M R K B Herath.

Umpires: D J Harper and I D Robinson.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport