Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Thursday, 22 April, 2004, 12:26 GMT 13:26 UK
Zimbabwe overwhelmed
Second one-day international, Bulawayo
Sri Lanka 139-1 (20.5 overs) beat Zimbabwe 136 all out (36.4 overs) by nine wickets

Sangakkarra appeals for the wicket of Nkala
Sangakkarra appeals for the wicket of Nkala
Sri Lanka overpowered Zimbabwe's under-strength side for a nine-wicket win in the second one-day international.

Chaminda Vaas and Muttiah Muralitharan claimed four wickets each to bowl the home side out for 136 in Bulawayo.

And the recalled Saman Jayantha hit 74 not out to lead the tourists to victory with 29 overs to spare.

Opener Sanath Jayasuriya passed Aravinda de Silva to become Sri Lanka's highest one-day run-scorer but was the only wicket to fall for 31.

Jayasuriya moved three ahead of De Silva's milestone of 9,284 in his 315th match, seven more than his former team-mate, now chief of selectors.

Zimbabwe, without 15 leading players protesting against the dismissal of captain Heath Streak, lost a wicket before they had a run on the board.

Vaas trapped Vusi Sibanda lbw fourth ball after the home side were put in to bat, following up with three more wickets in the first nine overs for figures of 4-38.

New skipper Tatenda Taibu was joined by and Stuart Matsikenyeri in a fifth-wicket stand of 49.

Chaminda Vaas
Vaas claimed four wickets in his first five overs
But when Taibu was run out for 35 by substitute square leg fielder Rangana Herath, his partner soon followed as Muralitharan's first victim for 18.

Prosper Utseya's unbeaten 25 from 32 balls kept the home innings limping along but his partners were less able against spinner Muralitharan, who claimed 4-32.

Zimbabwe were dismissed so early that 11 overs of the Sri Lanka innings were possible before the lunch break.

Former skipper Jaysuriya was caught at mid-off, mis-timing a big drive off Tinashe Panyangara.

But Jayantha blazed on unperturbed after the break, facing 64 balls and cutting his 12th boundary to finish the match.

Brought into the squad after a narrow opening win at the expense of seamer Nuwan Kulasekara, he trebled his previous best in his third one-day appearance.

Zimbabwe: V Sibanda, B R M Taylor, D D Ebrahim, T Taibu (Capt) E Chigumbura, S Matsikenyeri, A Maregwede (Wkt), M L Nkala T Panyangara, P Utseya, D T Hondo.

Sri Lanka: S T Jayasuriya, M S Atapattu (Capt) K C Sangakkara (Wkt), D P M D Jayawardene, T M Dilshan, S Jayantha R P Arnold, W P U J C Vaas, D N T Zoysa, M Muralitharan U D U Chandana.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport