Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Thursday, 2 September, 2004, 10:02 GMT 11:02 UK
ICC Champions Trophy facts
Sri Lanka's Jayasuriya and India's Ganguly
Sri Lanka and India shared the trophy in 2002
  • The ICC Champions Trophy is a mini World Cup held every two years with the 10 Test-playing nations, plus Kenya and the United States of America taking part this time.

  • It is being held in England between 10-25 September with matches taking place at Edgbaston in Birmingham, The Oval in south London and Hampshire's Rose Bowl.

  • There are four groups of three teams playing each other on a round-robin basis, with the winner of each pool qualifying for the knockout semi-final:

    Pool A - Australia, New Zealand and USA
    B - South Africa, West Indies and Bangladesh
    C - Pakistan, India and Kenya
    D - Sri Lanka, England and Zimbabwe

  • Each match starts at 1015 BST and will be 50 overs per side. The winner gets two points, there is one point for a no result or a tie and none for a defeat. No bonus points system will be used in the tournament.

  • A reserve day is available for every match in the event of rain. Any game interrupted by bad weather on the first day will resume on the reserve day from the point at which play was halted.

  • The Duckworth Lewis system will determine revised targets in games affected by bad weather. But a reduction of overs will only take place on the reserve day.

  • A minimum of 20 overs per side must be played to constitute a match.

  • The final will be held at The Oval on 25 September.

  • The winning team will receive a cheque for 167,500, the semi-final winners will each get 69,735 and group match winners will claim 28,000 per match.

  • The ICC Champions Trophy is 18ins tall and is made of sterling silver and consists of a silver gilt cricket ball engraved with a world map.

  • This is the fourth ICC Champions Trophy and the defending champions are India and Sri Lanka, who shared the title in 2002 after rains in Colombo washed out the final.

  • E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


    Back to top

    Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

    BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
    About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
    banner watch listen bbc sport