Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Saturday, 20 March, 2004, 04:57 GMT
Australia secure series
Second Test, Kandy, day five: Australia 120 & 442 beat Sri Lanka 211 & 324 by 27 runs

Shane Warne celebrates as Australia clinch victory in Kandy
Warne starred again with the ball to steer Australia to victory

Shane Warne took two of the three remaining Sri Lanka wickets as Australia wrapped up the series with a 27-run win in the second Test.

Sri Lanka started the final day in Kandy needing 51 runs but were bowled out for 324.

Warne broke through first, ending Chaminda Vaas' brave 45-run knock before Nuwan Zoysa was caught behind off Jason Gillespie, who took 4-76.

Warne then trapped last man Kaushal Lokuarachchi lbw to finish with 5-90.

Warne secured his eighth 10-wicket match haul and second in a row following his heroics in the first Test in Galle.

He now has 511 career wickets and is eight behind the world record held by retired West Indies paceman Courtney Walsh, who took 519 wickets in 132 tests.

Sri Lanka, who resumed at 301-7, had looked promising at the start of the day, adding 18 unbroken runs before losing their last three wickets for five.

They set off aggressively in pursuit of their target as Vaas, who resumed on 30, clubbed three early boundaries.

But two balls after being dropped in the covers, Vaas hit out to Warne and was caught on the rope at deep mid-wicket by Justin Langer.

Muttiah Muralitharan hit a four off Gillespie after Zoysa's dismissal but that was the end of Sri Lanka's run chase.

With Lokuarachchi's dismissal shortly after, Australia clinched a 2-0 lead in the three-match Test series

The third match starts in Colombo next Wednesday.

Sri Lanka: H Tillakaratne (capt), M Atapattu, S Jayasuriya, A Gunawardene, K Sangakkara, M Jayawardene, TM Dilshan, C Vaas, K Lokuarachchi, N Zoysa, M Muralitharan.

Australia: Ponting (capt), Hayden, Langer, Martyn, Lehmann, Symonds, Gilchrist, Warne, Gillespie, Kasprowicz, MacGill.

Umpires: Steve Bucknor, West Indies, and David Orchard, South Africa.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport