Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 8 August, 2004, 11:22 GMT 12:22 UK
Galle Test ends in draw
First Test, Galle:
Sri Lanka (486 & 214-9 dec) drew with South Africa (376 & 203-3)

SA skipper Graeme Smith made 74
Smith was South Africa's top second innings scorer
The first Test between Sri Lanka and South Africa ended in a draw after the tourists safely negotiated the final day's play on a tricky pitch.

They had reached 203-3, 122 runs short of the victory target, when the players shook hands in Galle.

Captain Graeme Smith made 74 despite suffering from a viral infection and was unlucky when he kicked the ball onto his own stumps.

Jacques Kallis notched up his 31st Test fifty as he ended unbeaten on 52.

South Africa resumed on 7-0, needing 325 to beat Sri Lanka.

But they defied the spin of Muttiah Muralitharan and set their stall out early to avoid defeat rather than go for glory.

Boeta Dippenaar was the first to go when he was out to Muralitharan for 11, although he notched up 1000 Test runs.

His was the only wicket to fall in the morning session although South Africa lost two more in the afternoon as they increased their run rate.

Martin van Jaarsveld was out for 29, lbw to Tillakaratne Dilshan and Smith went on the stroke of tea, bowled by Upul Chandana.

But Kallis and first innings centurion Jacques Rudolph kept their cool and batted out the final session.

The players now head to Colombo for the second and final Test, which starts on Wednesday, with Sri Lanka looking for their first series win over South Africa.

Sri Lanka: Marvan Atapattu (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof, Muttiah Muralitharan, Thilan Samaraweera, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Upul Chandana.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Jacques Kallis, Boeta Dippenaar, Martin van Jaarsveld, Jacques Rudolph, Lance Klusener, Shaun Pollock, Mark Boucher, Makhaya Ntini, Nantie Hayward, Nicky Boje.

Umpires: DJ Harper, DR Shepherd.

Sri Lanka in driving seat
07 Aug 04  |  Cricket
Murali reclaims Test record
06 Aug 04  |  Cricket
Jayawardene steals the show
05 Aug 04  |  Cricket
SA rule despite Jayawardene
04 Aug 04  |  Cricket

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport