Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 8 February, 2004, 10:26 GMT
Aussies claim one-day crown
Second VB Series final, Sydney: Australia 359-5 (50 overs) beat India 151 (33.2 overs) by 208 runs

Hayden celebrates
Matthew Hayden smashed 126 as Australia completed a VB Series victory over India with a 208-run win in Sydney.

In the second of a best-of-three finals series the hosts posted 359-5, equalling their record, also set against India in the World Cup final.

And they bowled the tourists out for just 151 in 33.2 overs, winning by the seventh-largest winning margin ever.

Hayden struck 11 fours and three sixes in his fourth career century and Damien Martyn returned to form with 67.

The duo shared a stand of 157 after the early losses of Adam Gilchrist and Ricky Ponting left the hosts 73-2.

Gilchrist went for 29 in the ninth over when he was caught at mid-on after mistiming a pull off paceman Ashish Nehra.

You just can't keep playing that well on a two-and-a-half-month tour
Ricky Ponting
Ponting then departed for four when he was caught off Irfan Pathan.

Martyn, whose highest score in the series before now was 47, settled straight away, his century partnership with Hayden taking just 107 balls.

His dismissal, caught off Pathan, only brought a raising of the tempo as Andrew Symonds launched a brutal innings worth 66 off 39 just deliveries.

Part-time bowler Sachin Tendulkar was celebrating when he bowled Hayden around his legs but his return to the attack late saw Symonds crash two sixes off a single over.

Brett Lee
Brett Lee took two wickets and made two vital catches
Michael Clarke kept him company with a fluid 33 from 20 balls and Simon Katich added two boundaries after Symonds was yorked by Nehra.

In reply, India's challenge effectively ended after five wickets fell in eight overs to a combination of consistent bowling and excellent fielding.

Needing to score at over seven per over, and top the previous record successful chase by 30, Virender Sehwag clipped the first ball of the innings for six.

But he was already back in the pavilion, victim of a leaping catch by Brett Lee, when the clatter of wickets came.

In the space of five balls, Tendulkar gave Jason Gillespie his second scalp when he edged to Lee at square leg and VVS Laxman was caught and bowled by Lee.

I don't think it's fair to change the finals but we can reduce the number of group games
Sourav Ganguly
Then Ian Harvey got in on the act as Sourav Ganguly flashed to point and Yuvraj Singh edged behind.

Between those hauls, Rahul Dravid was brilliantly run out by Martyn from cover.

Irfan Pathan hit a valiant 30 but by then it was a face-saving operation for the tourists.

Lee clean bowled Pathan and Brad Willams took two late wickets to finish proceedings.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Damien Martyn, Michael Clarke, Simon Katich, Andrew Symonds, Ian Harvey, Brett Lee, Jason Gillespie, Brad Williams. 12th man: Brad Hogg.

India: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, V.V.S. Laxman, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, Hemang Badani, Murali Kartik, Irfan Pathan, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Ashish Nehra. 12th man: Sanjay Bangar.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport