Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 21 September, 2003, 16:32 GMT 17:32 UK
Pakistan complete whitewash
Fifth one-day international, Karachi: Pakistan 302-5 (50 overs) beat Bangladesh 244-7 (50 overs) by 58 runs

Yasir Hamed
Opener Yasir Hamed top-scored with 82
Pakistan completed a 5-0 sweep of Bangladesh with a 58-run win in the fifth one-day international.

Yasir Hamed top-scored with 82 and Yousuf Youhana and Inzamam-ul Haq also hit half-centuries in the hosts' 302-5.

And the tourists were never in the hunt, despite a 128-run partnership between Rajin Saleh (71) and Alok Kapali (69), ending 244-7.

The Pakistan team wore black armbands in an expression of regret over the cancellation of South Africa's tour.

A bomb blast in Karachi on Friday caused South Africa to pull out with safety concerns.

Hamed shared an opening partnership of 95 with Mohammad Hafeez before the latter was stumped for 44.

And stand-in captain Inzamam's unbeaten 59, accompanied by a swashbucking 31 from Shoaib Malik ensured 103 runs were added in the last 12 overs.

Needing more than six runs per over, Bangladesh could only score at around five, although they kept wickets in hand until the final few overs.

Definitely when we go back the experience of this tour will help us perform better against England
Bangladesh captain
Khaled Mahmud
Mohammad Sami took two late wickets but spinner Malik was the pick of the bowlers with 1-39 off 10 overs.

Threatened that they would drop below arch-rivals India in the world rankings if they failed to clinch a series clean sweep, Pakistan moved to fourth.

They are now placed behind Australia, South Africa and England in the ICC's complex rating.

The home team dedicated the series victory to regular captain Rashid Latif, who served a five-match for taking a controversial catch in the third Test against Bangladesh.

Latif was at the stadium to savour the moment, having already led Pakistan to their first home Test-series win since 1998, by a 3-0 verdict.

Pakistan : Mohammad Hafeez, Yasir Hameed, Inzamam-ul-Haq (captain), Yousuf Youhana, Abdul Razzaq, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Younis Khan, Umar Gul, Mohammad Sami, Shabbir Ahmed

Bangladesh: Khaled Mahmud (captain), Habibul Bashar, Hanan Sarkar, Tushur Imran, Razin Saleh, Alok Kapali, Khaled Mashud, Mohammad Rafique, Mashrafe Murtaza, Mushfiqur Rehman, Tapash Baisya

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport