Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Thursday, 18 September, 2003, 17:27 GMT 18:27 UK
Sussex win title
Chris Adams and Murray Goodwin shared in a 267-run stand
It is the biggest day of my cricket career
Skipper Chris Adams
County Championship D1, Hove, day two of four (stumps): Leicestershire 179 & 38-2 v Sussex 614-4 dec.

Record-breaking Murray Goodwin fired Sussex to their first ever county championship title on day two at Hove.

Sussex wrapped up the title after lunch when they passed 300, gaining the vital third batting point that means they cannot be caught by nearest pursuers Lancashire.

Goodwin, who hit the title-sealing boundary, celebrated in style to finish on 335 not out - the highest ever by a Sussex batsman.

It was his second century in two matches and fifth of the year, taking his seasonal aggregate to 1,496 runs.

The former Zimbabwe Test player stroked an amazing 52 fours and one six in his 390-ball innings, surpassing the 333 KS Duleepsinhji scored in 1930.

Goodwin put on 267 runs for the third wicket with skipper Chris Adams, who made 102 before George Walker struck.

The visitors used nine bowlers in an effort to peg Sussex back, but they could only take three wickets on the day before the declaration came.

It is fantastic to be here, having won the championship - just phenomenal
Murray Goodwin

And the newly crowned champions looked destined to win the game after Jon Maunders and Jeremy Snape just before stumps to leave Leicestershire a whopping 397 runs behind.

The match heralded a personal milestone for leg-spinner Mushtaq Ahmed, who became the first centurion wicket-taker in a championship season since Andy Caddick and Courtney Walsh in 1998.

Durham, Gloucestershire, Northamptonshire and Somerset are now the only counties without a title success to their name.

Sussex: R R Montgomerie, M W Goodwin, P A Cottey, C J Adams (Capt) T R Ambrose, R S C Martin-Jenkins, M J Prior, M J G Davis Mushtaq Ahmed, J D Lewry, B V Taylor.

Leicestershire: J K Maunders, D L Maddy, B J Hodge, J L Sadler L J Wright, P A Nixon, G W Walker, P A J DeFreitas (Capt) J N Snape, V C Drakes, D D Masters.

Umpires: T E Jesty, M J Kitchen.

Sussex's Murray Goodwin
"I told the guys it would be fantastic to hit the winning runs"

Former Sussex chief exec Tony Pigott
"It's a great achievement, what we've worked for over the last six years"



Sussex on verge of title
17 Sep 03  |  Cricket

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport