Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
| Help
Last Updated: Tuesday, 22 April, 2003, 11:07 GMT 12:07 UK
Pakistan old guard snubbed
Shoaib Malik
Shoaib Malik: part of the 'in-crowd' in Pakistani cricket
Pakistan have refused to allow the World Cup flops dropped for the Sharjah series back into the national squad.

Wasim Akram, Inzamam-ul-Haq and Saqlain Mushtaq are missing from a 21-man preliminary squad preparing for a triangular tournament in Sri Lanka.

Others not included are Waqar Younis, Saeed Anwar, Shahid Afridi and Azhar Mahmood.

A number of rookies were blooded in the Emirates and the policy paid off when Pakistan won the four-nation tournament, winning all their matches.

Shoaib Akhtar, the world's fastest bowler, is the only one of the eight players originally dropped for Sharjah handed a reprieve.

A training camp involving the 21 players will be held over eight days in Lahore from Wednesday.

Samiul Hasan, spokesman for the Pakistan Cricket Board, told the BBC Sport website: "The final squad for Sri Lanka will be chosen from those 21 players."

The new squad includes the all-rounder who did so well in Sharjah, Mohammad Hafeez, and Mohammad Sami, the best bowler in the tournament.

The team is captained by the only remaining veteran, Rashid Latid.

Chief selector Aamir Sohail said: "Our basic aim is to ensure continuity in our process of giving more chances to the younger and new players in our rebuilding process.

"Basically we are trying to build on our success in Sharjah although we know we have a long way to go

"Shoaib has been recalled as he still has a future with the team but even he will have to prove his fitness and form in the training camp to be considered for the Sri Lanka series."

Meanwhile, former Pakistan captain Rameez Raja has taken over as chief executive officer of the Pakistan cricket board.

Pakistan training camp: Taufeeq Umar, Mohammad Hafeez, Faisal Athar, Yasir Hameed, Yousuf Youhana, Younis Khan, Faisal Iqbal, Naved Latif, Misbah-ul-Haq, Farhan Adil, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Rashid Latif (captain and wicket-keeper), Danish Kaneria, Qaiser Abbas, Umer Gul, Mohammad Sami, Shoaib Akhtar, Shabbir Ahmad, Mansoor Amjad and Jaffar Nazir.

Pakistan youngsters delight Latif
11 Apr 03  |  Cricket
Pakistan victorious in Sharjah
10 Apr 03  |  Cricket
Pakistan flops fined
27 Mar 03  |  Pakistan
Pakistan ring the changes
20 Mar 03  |  Cricket

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites
E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport