BBC Sport athletics

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:16 GMT, Tuesday, 21 December 2010

Manx Fell Running League starts on New Year's Day

St Johns Fell Race 2010
Lloyd Taggart dominated the 10-race series in 2010

The opening round of the 2011 Manx Fell Running League will be held in St Johns on New Year's Day.

The race will be held over the traditional three-mile course, climbing to the summit of Slieau Whallian before returning to St Johns Football Club.

Manx Fell Runners' Tom Cringle said: "The route is easy to follow and the course sporting but by no means over difficult.

"It is an ideal taster for any newcomers to have a go at fell racing."

Lloyd Taggart won the 2010 event and went on to dominate the league, finishing with seven victories.

The minimum age for runners is 12. The race will start at 1400GMT with registration from 1300.

see also
Skillicorn wins his seventh title
13 Dec 10 |  Athletics
Taggart & Lee end season in style
17 Nov 10 |  Athletics
Skillicorn claims Peel Hill race
16 Nov 10 |  Athletics
Taggart claims Winter Hill opener
12 Oct 10 |  Athletics

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2020 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.