BBC Sport athletics

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:00 GMT, Monday, 13 December 2010

Skillicorn wins seventh consecutive Winter Hill title

Simon Skillicorn by Murray Lambden
Simon Skillicorn has won the Winter Hill League every year since 2004

Simon Skillicorn claimed his seventh consecutive Isle of Man Winter Hill League title after another impressive year on the Manx fells.

Skillicorn recorded two second places and a victory in the three-race series to secure the title.

"It's brilliant to win but it was lucky for me that Lloyd missed the second round," said Skillicorn.

Lloyd Taggart beat Skillicorn by 1 minute 16 seconds to win Saturday's final round at Slieu Whallion.

Lloyd Taggart
Lloyd Taggart won two rounds of the 2010 Winter Hill League

Taggart also won the opening round of the competition at the Cringle Plantation but missed the second round to compete in the UK.

There was a similar story in the women's competition, Rosy Craine taking the title after two seconds and a first.

Jackie Lee, who was also competing at the Dunnerdale event in the Lake District last time, was the first lady home, finishing 11th overall.

Lee, who also won the opening round, finished one and a half minutes ahead of Craine.

Jason Moore won the junior title after another strong run.

Paul Clarke won the over 40 Vets age group, Rob Webb the Vet 50s and John Wright the Vet 60s.

Lloyd Taggart wins Winter Hill League opener Simon Skillicorn wins Winter Hill League second round

see also
Taggart & Lee end season in style
17 Nov 10 |  Athletics
Skillicorn claims Peel Hill race
16 Nov 10 |  Athletics
Taggart claims Winter Hill opener
12 Oct 10 |  Athletics

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites