BBC Sport athletics

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 20:12 GMT, Sunday, 1 August 2010 21:12 UK

Chris Tomlinson secures European long jump bronze

European Athletics Championships 2010
Venue: Barcelona Dates: 27 July - 1 August
Coverage: Watch live on BBC HD, BBC One, BBC Two and BBC Sport website (UK users only); Live coverage on BBC Radio 5 live; Full highlights on iPlayer and highlights of the biggest events on demand online (UK only) Full details

Chris Tomlinson

Tomlinson leaps to European bronze

Chris Tomlinson won bronze for Britain in the men's long jump but Lisa Dobriskey missed out on a medal in the 1,500m at the European Championships.

Tomlinson leapt 8.23 metres, one centimetre shorter than Kafetien Gomis of France as German Christian Rief won gold with a championship record 8.47m.

Dobriskey's hopes faded when she became boxed in on the final lap and faded in a sprint finish to wind up fourth.

Spain's Nunia Fernandez was a shock winner in four minutes 0.20 seconds.

"I wasn't good enough on the day," admitted world silver medallist Dobriskey, 26. "I wanted to go out and make my presence known but it didn't pay off. I tried my hardest."

France's Hind Dehiba took silver, Spaniard Natalia Rodriguez collected bronze, while Russia's pre-race favourite Anna Alminova, who set a blistering pace from the gun and led for the majority of the run, was sixth.

Brit Stephanie Twell ran a lifetime best of 4:02.24 to come seventh, while her compatriot Hannah England (4:05.07) placed 10th.

Lisa Dobriskey

Dobriskey edged out of medals in 1500m

Tomlinson's jump of 8.23m in the fourth round looked good enough to secure silver before Gomis followed four straight fouls with a leap of 8.24m.

The 28-year-old from Middlesbrough could only manage 7.57m with his final jump and so had to settle for bronze.

"I'm pretty happy with that," reflected Tomlinson. "I know there's a monster [jump] in me but unfortunately it didn't come. This is a springboard for 2012."

Christophe Lemaitre became the first athlete to win a hat-trick of golds at the championships when his French team stormed to victory in the men's 4x100 metres relay.

Newly-crowned 100m and 200m champion Lemaitre ran the second leg for France but they needed a strong final leg from Martial Mbandjock, who raced past Italy's Maurizio Checcucci, to earn gold.

The French team, which also included Jimmy Vicaut and Alexis-Pierre Pessonneaux, won in 38.11 as the Italians had to settle for silver and Germany took bronze.

In the women's 4x100m, Ukraine upset the odds to deny France another gold.


Olesya Povh, Nataliya Pohrebnyak, Mariya Ryemyen and Yelizaveta Bryzhina ran 42.29 - the fastest time in the world this year - to beat a French quartet that included 100m silver medallist Veronique Mang and Myriam Soumare, who became 200m champion on Saturday and also won bronze in the 100m. Poland were third.

Mahiedine Mekhissi-Benabbad won the battle of the overwhelming French favourites in the 3,000m steeplechase final.

As expected, the rest of the field could not live with Olympic silver medallist Mekhissi-Benabbad and his compatriot Bouabdellah Tahri as the pair dominated the race.

Mekhissi-Benabbad, though, overtook his rival in the last 30 metres to claim gold in a championship record 8:07.87. Spaniard Jose Luis Blanco thrilled the home fans by taking bronze.

Turkey's Elvan Abeylegesse failed to emulate Mo Farah's men's distance double as she was beaten by another Ethiopian-turned-Turk, Alemitu Bekele.

The pair formed part of a leading group of four when the final-lap bell sounded but Bekele was too strong for her compatriot in the finishing straight to win in a championship-best 14:52.20. Sara Moreira won bronze for Portugal.

Blanka Vlasic of Croatia won the women's high jump in a competition-record height of 2.03m. Sweden's Emma Green took silver, Ariane Friedrich of Germany won bronze while Belgium's defending champion Tia Hellebaut, who beat Vlasic to Olympic gold two years ago, finished fifth.

Switzerland's Viktor Rothlin became men's marathon champion, clocking two hours, 15 minutes and 31 seconds to finish more than two minutes ahead of Spain's Juan Martinez.

Russia's Dimitri Safronov took bronze medal in a time of 2'18:16 while Britain's Lee Merrien finished eighth with 2'20:14.

Britons David Webb (16th), Dan Robinson (19th), Ben Moreau (24th ) and Martin Williams (28th) also featured.

Pole Piotr Malachowski won the discus with a European record throw of 68.87m. Germany's Robert Harting was second and Hungarian Robert Fazekas was third.

Sunday's results in full from European Athletics

Final medal table

see also
Britain celebrate Euro medal haul
02 Aug 10 |  Athletics
Ennis crowned European champion
31 Jul 10 |  Athletics
Turner leads GB Euro medal haul
30 Jul 10 |  Athletics
Dobriskey spurred by drug cheats
30 Jul 10 |  Athletics
Euro Champs day-by-day guide
26 Jul 10 |  Athletics
Euro Athletics predictions
26 Jul 10 |  Athletics
Athletics on the BBC
21 Apr 11 |  Athletics

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites