BBC Sport athletics

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 12:02 GMT, Wednesday, 5 November 2008

GB athletes hit by funding cuts

Christine Ohuorugu is one of just six athletes who will receive the top level of funding
Ohuorugu is one of just six athletes who will receive the top level of funding

UK Athletics chief Charles van Commenee said there is "no room for sentiment" after cutting the number of British athletes on lottery funding by 20%.

And the Dutchman is preparing further cuts after next year's World Championships in Berlin.

"We are focusing investment on those we believe will be successful next summer," said Van Commenee.

"Thereafter, the focus will be squarely on supporting those who have what it takes to deliver in London 2012."

There are now just 33 athletes receiving funding from the lottery programme with the likes of Andy Turner, who failed to get beyond the second round of the 110m hurdles at the Beijing Olympics, among those to be removed from the list.

Britain's athletes won just four medals at the Beijing Olympics, with 400m runner Christine Ohuorugu claiming the solitary gold.

So there is no surprise that Ohuorugu tops the list of just six athletes who will receive the top level of funding of 25,383 per year.

The other five - Phillips Idowu, Germaine Mason, Tasha Danvers, Kelly Sotherton and Nicola Sanders - all won medals in Beijing or at last year's World Championships in Osaka.

Thirteen athletes will receive the next level of funding, which equates to a maximum award of 19,000, while 14 athletes are on the third tier of funding which is 12,600.

Those receiving the second level of funding have to have finished in the top eight in Beijing or Osaka, while those in the third tier are funded because they have the potential to win medals at next year's World Championships.

Ten further athletes, including Mark Lewis-Francis, will receive discretionary awards as part of the sprint relay squads.

Joining Turner in losing their access to lottery funding are Becky Lyne and Rhys Williams, who won 800m and 400m hurdles bronze respectively at the 2006 European Championships.

"We have taken a measured and impartial look at out athletes," added Van Commenee.

"There can be no room for sentiment in elite athlete funding.

"I will use the system to ensure athletes are motivated to perform when it matters most.

"We have a big year ahead of us and we will see what athletes are worthy of investment leading onwards to 2012 and beyond."

A level support athletes:
Tasha Danvers, Phillips Idowu, Germaine Mason, Christine Ohuruogu, Nicola Sanders, Kelly Sotherton.

The 37 other podium and relay support funded athletes:
Larry Achike, Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Emma Ania, Andy Baddeley, Tim Benjamin, Martyn Bernard, Michael Bingham, Sarah Claxton, Marlon Devonish, Lisa Dobriskey, Montell Douglas, Nathan Douglas, Tyrone Edgar, Jessica Ennis, Mo Farah, Rikki Fifton, Emily Freeman, Jade Johnson, Jeanette Kwakye, Mark Lewis-Francis, Christian Malcolm, Lee McConnell, Marilyn Okoro, Tom Parsons, Jo Pavey, Craig Pickering, Paula Radcliffe, Michael Rimmer, Martyn Rooney, Greg Rutherford, Goldie Sayers, Andrew Steele, Robert Tobin, Chris Tomlinson, Laura Turner, Simeon Williamson, Mara Yamauchi.

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

see also
Team GB boss outlines 2012 plan
21 Oct 08 |  Olympics
Van Commenee named UKA head coach
23 Sep 08 |  Athletics
Van Commenee gets UKA coach role
18 Sep 08 |  Athletics
Collins leaves UK Athletics post
01 Sep 08 |  Athletics
Foster wary of changing UKA boss
31 Aug 08 |  Athletics
Danvers backs under-fire Collins
26 Aug 08 |  Athletics
Sotherton denies rift with coach
21 Nov 04 |  Athletics
Edwards backs Van Commenee
16 May 04 |  Athletics
Team GB for Beijing
21 Jul 08 |  Team GB
Athletics on the BBC
28 Oct 08 |  Athletics
Contact TV team
08 Apr 08 |  Athletics

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites