Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Thursday, 14 June 2007, 17:01 GMT 18:01 UK
Nine NI athletes in Irish squad
Anna Boyle
NI record holder Anna Boyle has a 100m personal best of 11.49
Anna Boyle is among nine Northern Ireland athletes named in the Ireland squad for the European Cup meetings in Vaasa, Finland later this month.

Boyle will run the 100m and 4x100 while Kelly Reid (1500m), Laura Kerr (javelin) and Claire Wilkinson (pole vault) have also been selected.

Jonathan Ritchie (triple jump), Aaron Crawford (javelin) have been picked for men's individual events.

Jason Smyth, Paul McKee and Elaine McCaffrey will be on relay duty.

McKee and McCaffrey have been picked for the 4x400m while McKee will also join Smyth as part of the 4x100m squad.

The Irish squads includes David Gillick (400m), Paul Hession (100m and 200m) plus Derval O'Rourke (100H) and all three will be hoping to earn big points in Finland.

However, O'Rourke's rivals in Vaasa are expected to include Swedish star Susanna Kallur who claimed gold ahead of the Irishwoman at last year's European Championships.

North Down shot putter Eva Massey will be in the British squad for the meeting in Vaasa.

Ireland's men's team
100/200: Paul Hession
400: David Gillick
800: David McCarthy
1500: Dave Campbell
3000SC: Mark Kirwan
3000: James Nolan
5000: Martin Fagan
110H: Ian McDonald
400H: Jonathon Miller
Long Jump: Steve Fleming
Triple Jump: Jonathon Ritchie
High Jump: Chistopher Crowley
Shot: Sean Breathnach
Discus: Eoin Leen
Hammer: Padraig White
Javelin: Aaron Crawford
Pole Vault: Anthony McCreery

4100 relay: Jason Smyth, Jer O'Donoghue, Gordon Kennedy, Darragh Graham, Paul McKee,Paul Hession

4400 relay: Paul McKee, Gordon Kennedy, David McCarthy, Brian Murphy, David Gillick

Women's Team
100: Anna Boyle
200: Ciara Sheehy
400: Joanne Cuddihy
800: Rose-Anne Galligan
1500: Kelly Reid
3000SC: Linda Byrne
3000: Orla Drumm
5000: Finnoula Britton
100H: Derval O'Rourke
400H: Michelle Carey

Long Jump: Kelly Proper
Triple Jump: Sara Barry
High Jump: Deirdre Ryan
Shot: Laura Cogan
Discus: Eileen O'Keefe
Hammer: Eileen O'Keefe
Javelin: Laura Kerr
Pole Vault: Claire Wilkinson

4100 relay: Boyle, O'Rourke, Cuddihy, Sheehy, Ailis McSweeney, Emily Maher
4400 relay: Cuddihy, Sheehy, Carey, Maher Elaine McCaffrey

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us