BBC Sport sportspersonality

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:46 GMT, Monday, 22 December 2008

Sports Personality images of 2008
Australia v New Zealand - Australia's Darren Lockyer pictured


Favourites Australia stunned in final

New Zealand caused one of the big sporting upsets of the year by beating Australia 30-24 to win the Rugby League World Cup for the first time after a thrilling game, rich in drama and controversy.

Australia had held the trophy since 1975 and went through the tournament undefeated after beating New Zealand 30-6 in their opening game.

In the final, the Kangaroos led 16-12 at the break, thanks largely to two tries from skipper Darren Lockyer.

Lance Hohaia and Benji Marshall scores put the Kiwis 22-16 in front before Greg Inglis touched down in the corner.

But The Kiwis were awarded a penalty try after Joel Monaghan impeded Hohaia before Adam Blair sealed victory.

In the picture, Australia's Darren Lockyer stands dejected as New Zealand celebrate.


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.