BBC Sport sportspersonality

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 06:16 GMT, Tuesday, 4 November 2008

Young Sports Personality

Theo Walcott remembers his win

Sports Personality of the Year
Venue: Liverpool Echo Arena Date: Sunday, 14 December Time: 1900 BST Coverage: Live on BBC One, BBC Radio 5 Live & BBC Sport website.

Nominations have now closed for the BBC's Young Sports Personality of the Year 2008.

2007 Tom Daley
2006 Theo Walcott
2005 Harry Aikines-Aryeetey
2004 Andrew Murray
2003 Kate Haywood
2002 Wayne Rooney
2001 Amy Spencer

Young Sports Personality of the Year will be awarded to the outstanding young sportsperson aged 16 or under on 1 January 2008, selected from nominations made to the BBC by the public.

People are eligible to win Young Sports Personality if they are the right age (see above) and they are British or all three of the following criteria:

• They play a significant amount of their sport in the UK

• Their core achievements that year were achieved in the UK, and not with a non-UK national team (in which case they would more likely qualify for the Overseas award)

• They are residents in the UK

Judging panel

BBC Sport's John Inverdale will chair a panel that will include fellow BBC Sport presenter Jake Humphrey , two representatives from Youth Sport Trust, a former Young Sports Personality of the Year winner or nominee and a representative from Sports Personality of the Year, CBBC and BBC Switch.

The panel will then meet to choose the top 10 contenders shortly after the first panel meeting from the list of nominations collected by the Youth Sport Trust and the BBC.

The panel will reconvene two weeks later on 24 November 2008 to select the top three and the winner from the top 10 list. The top three and the winner will be selected by secret ballot.

The top three will be invited to the live event and the other seven contenders will be notified out of courtesy that they have not made the final shortlist.

The winner will be announced live on the Sports Personality of the Year show and the website on Sunday 14 December 2008.

see also
BBC Sports Unsung Hero 2009
12 Aug 10 |  Sports Personality
Calzaghe wins Sports Personality
10 Dec 07 |  Sport Homepage
Walcott wins Young Sports award
11 Dec 06 |  Sport
Sprinter Harry handed BBC honour
11 Dec 05 |  Sport Academy

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.