BBC Sport rugbyunionwelsh


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 20:13 GMT, Saturday, 29 January 2011

Cardiff Blues 7-29 Ospreys

Cardiff Blues (7)
Try: G Evans. Con: Griffin.
Ospreys (24) 29
Tries: Penalty, Allen, Dirksen Con: M Morgan. Pens: M Morgan 4.

Hanno Dirksen crosses for the Ospreys
Wing Hanno Dirksen crosses for the Ospreys' third try against the Blues

A depleted Ospreys side proved too strong for an equally unfamiliar Cardiff Blues line-up in the LV= Cup at Cardiff City Stadium.

The visitors lost lock Ian Evans and prop Cai Griffiths to the sin-bin in the second period.

Gavin Evans went over for the Blues early on, but the Ospreys replied with penalty try and a Morgan Allen score.

Ospreys' fly-half Matthew Morgan kicked four penalties and a conversion and Hanno Dirksen touched down late on.

However, the Ospreys remain bottom of Pool 4 with slim chances of progress to the knock-out stages while the Blues are better placed in Pool 1.

The Blues travel to Harlequins on Sunday, 6 February in the final round of group games and on the same day the Ospreys host Wasps at Bridgend's Brewery Field.

Cardiff Blues backs coach Gareth Baber:
"For the future of the Cardiff Blues, we need these games to give the youngsters experience.

"It's big respect to our development system that these players are coming through. It bodes well for the future."

Ospreys coach Filo Tiatia:
"It was a good exercise. We didn't really execute, which was a bit disappointing, but we scored three good tries.

"And when we were down to 13 men, they showed a lot of character. A lot of young kids played tonight and I'm really proud of them.

"I think it's a great competition in terms of development.

"There were a few players here tonight we hadn't seen much of and they showed potential.

"It's also a great opportunity for young coaches like myself."

Cardiff Blues: Fish; Taylor, Evans, Hewitt, Robinson; J Griffin, Downes; T Davies, Dacey, Hobbs, Griffiths, Cook, Hamilton, Navidi, Brown.
Replacements: Loxton for Robinson (53), L. Williams for J Griffin (63), L Jones for Downes (58), Smout for T Davies (61), R Williams for Dacey (52), John for Hobbs (61), Hill for Cook (52).
Not Used: Sheppard.

Ospreys: Prydie, K Phillips, Owen, Beck, Dirksen, Morgan, Webb, D Jones, M Davies, Griffiths, Goode, Evans, King, Tipuric, Smith.
Replacements: Isaacs for Beck (61), Flanagan for Morgan (69), Nutbrown for Webb (58), Cross for D Jones (64), Bennett for M Davies (58), Taylor for Griffiths (74), Kelly for King (74), Allan for Smith (26).

Att: 10,320

Ref: D Pearson (England).

Print Sponsor

see also
Anglo-Welsh Cup
11 Apr 07 |  Rugby Union

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites