BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 21:14 GMT, Friday, 25 February 2011

Leinster 30-5 Benetton Treviso

Leinster (16) 30
Tries: D Kearney, McKinley Cons: Nacewa 3Pens: Nacewa 3
Benetton Trevios (5) 5
Try: Padro

Isa Nacewa
Stand-in captain Isa Nacewa scored 25 points for Leinster at the RDS

Benetton Treviso proved sticky opponents for Leinster before the Irish province emerged as 25-point winners at the RDS in the Magners League.

Stand-in captain Isa Nacewa kicked three early Leinster penalties and David Kearney's try helped extend the lead to 16-0.

Gonzalo Padro touched down for Treviso before half-time but Ian McKinley replied with another Leinster try.

Andrew Conway added a late Leinster try while Nacewa finished with 25 points.

Treviso's New Zealand-born full-back Joe Maddock caused Leinster's defence a great deal of worry early on, but winger Benjamin de Jager was unable to supply the finish in the corner.

Nacewa landed three successful penalties in the opening 15 minutes, with Treviso fly-half Willem de Waal missing two difficult efforts.

Leinster notched their opening try in the 28th minute with fly-half McKinley skipping away from de Waal's attempted tackle and offloading to Kearney who stepped inside Maddock to score by the posts.

Treviso kept hammering away and a drive from close range saw Padro crash over in the left corner for an unconverted score.

Leading 16-5 at the break, Leinster put the result beyond doubt with a superb 46th-minute try as Dominic Ryan, Isaac Boss, Nacewa and Kearney were all involved before McKinley jinked past the final defender to score to the left of the posts.

Treviso's Corniel van Zyl was yellow carded for persistent infringing in the ruck in the 56th minute but the final Leinster try didn't come until injury-time when Conway scored in the corner after replacement Ian Madigan's looping pass.

Leinster: Nacewa, Conway, O'Malley, Sheridan, D Kearney, McKinley, Boss, van der Merwe, Strauss, Wright, O'Donoghue, Toner, McLaughlin, D Ryan, Keogh.

Replacements: Madigan for McKinley 60, O'Donohoe for Boss 79, McGrath for van der Merwe 64, Harris-Wright for Strauss 74, Newland for Wright 40, P Ryan for O'Donoghue 61, Ruddock for Keogh 37
Not Used: Morris.

Benetton Treviso: Maddock, Sepe, Galon, Vilk, De Jager, de Waal, Nitoglia, Rizzo, Ceccato, Rouyet, A. Pavanello, van Zyl, Padro, Filippucci, Sbaraglini.

Replacements: Marcato for de Waal 60, Di Santo for Rizzo 51, E Pavanello for Padro 51.
Not Used: Muccignat, Sutto, Pratichetti, Picone

Referee: Neil Hennessy (Wales)

Print Sponsor

see also
Blues 11-3 Leinster
19 Feb 11 |  Cardiff Blues
Leinster 21-16 Aironi
10 Feb 11 |  Leinster

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.