BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 8 May, 2005, 18:26 GMT 19:26 UK
Leinster 17-23 Munster
Anthony Foley scored a last-gasp try for Munster
Leinster (12) 17
Try: Dempsey
Pens: Holwell 4
Munster (10) 23
Tries: Horan, Foley
Cons: Burke 2
Pens: Burke 3
Munster captain Anthony Foley scored a last-gasp try to snatch a 23-17 win over Leinster in the Celtic Cup semi-final at Lansdowne Road.

Leinster had been 17-16 in front when fly-half David Holwell was harshly sent-off and Munster took their chance.

Four penalties by Holwell had Leinster 12-10 ahead at half-time with Marcus Horan getting a try for Munster.

Girvan Dempsey scored Leinster's try but Foley's late score booked Munster's place in the final against Scarlets.

Wind-assisted Leinster began the game with a six-point buffer after Holwell had sliced over two lengthy penalties inside seven minutes.

Munster wasted little time in replying with prop Horan driving over abd Paul Burke converting for the lead.

Holwell again showed his kicking prowess from 49 metres when his 12th-minute penalty bounced up and over off the Munster crossbar.

He notched his fourth kick on the half-hour before Horgan was binned for a ruck offence.

A Burke penalty on 33 minutes saw Munster just two points behind at half-time.

Two neat Burke penalties saw Munster regain the lead but the tie turned in Leinster's favour on 52 minutes when Holwell linked with Brian O'Driscoll to send full-back Dempsey haring in at the right corner.

Never-say-die Munster came back and Foley's 79th-minute try meant retiring Leinster back row Victor Costello's 11-year career ended in defeat.

Leinster: Dempsey, Horgan, O'Driscoll, D'Arcy, D. Hickie, Holwell, Easterby, Corrigan, S. Byrne, E. Byrne, Cullen, O'Kelly, Dillon, Gleeson, Costello.
Replacements: B. Blaney, Nebbett, Gissing, Miller, O'Meara, Contepomi, Quinlan.

Munster: Payne, Kelly, Mullins, Henderson, Horgan, Burke, Stringer, Horan, F. Sheahan, J. Hayes, O'Callaghan, O'Connell, Quinlan, Wallace, Foley.
Replacements: Flannery, McIlwham, Hogan, Leamy, Prendergast, Manning, Devlin.

Referee: N Whitehouse (WRFU).



The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport