BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Friday, 7 May, 2004, 21:07 GMT 22:07 UK
Munster 39-10 Connacht
David Wallace scored two tries in Munster's win over Connacht
Munster (20) 39
Tries: Foley, Wallace 2, Cullen, Holland, Pusey.
Cons: Cullen, Staunton 2
Pen: Staunton
Connacht (0) 10
Try: Penalty
Pen: Elwood
Munster ended their poor recent spell with a 39-10 comfortable success over Connacht on Friday night.

Confidence in the Munster camp was low after the 60-14 defeat to Cardiff Blues but they bounced back in style in front of their home fans in Limerick.

A first-half double from David Wallace, along with skipper Anthony Foley's ninth-minute opener paved the way for victory over a jaded Connacht.

Munster added another three tries in the second half.

The ever-alert Foley claimed a dropping ball at a line-out to dive under Mike Walls' tackle for the opening try.

Jeremy Staunton clipped the conversion wide but moved the visitors 8-0 in front from a 28-metre penalty on 23 minutes.

Munster rounded off a 20-point first half against 14 men, following prop Dan McFarland's sin-binning, wth Wallace going over for two tries.

Eric Elwood scored for a penalty Connacht on 52 minutes and five minutes later, down to 13 men with number eight John O'Sullivan sin-binned for going over the top, a slick maul saw referee Hugh Watkins award the penalty try.

But Munster pulled away on the hour mark as Jason Holland went under the posts on 67 minutes.

Pusey had enough brute strength to clamber over in the right corner past McPhillips five minutes later and Cullen completed a double for the hosts over Connacht this season as he ended a fine 40-metre move with his first try and convert with four minutes remaining.

Munster: Cullen., Kelly, Payne, Holland, Horgan, Staunton, Reddan, Horan, Flannery, McIlwham, O'Callaghan, O'Connell, Quinlan, Wallace, Foley.
Replacements: Kerr, Roche, Pusey, S. Keogh, Prendergast, Mullins, Lawlor.

Connacht: Mostyn, O'Loughlin, Yapp, McHugh, McPhillips, Elwood, Walls, McFarland, Jackman, Bracken, Browne, Farley, Swift, Lacey, O'Sullivan.
Replacements: Clarke, Fogarty, McCarthey, Uijs, Murphy, Burke, Carroll.

Referee: Hugh Watkins (Wales)



The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport