BBC Home
Explore the BBC
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 28 May 2006, 04:10 GMT 05:10 UK
All Blacks announce 39-man squad
All Blacks coach Graham Henry
Henry (left) is worried by the rigours of his players' long season
All Blacks coach Graham Henry has named a huge 39-man squad for next month's Tests against Ireland and Argentina.

South African-born lock Greg Rawlinson is one of three uncapped players included, alongside prop Clarke Dermody and winger Scott Hamilton.

"The players have been through an intensive Super 14 and we need to ensure that they're in peak condition for international rugby," said Henry.

"That's why we are using 39 to play the first three Tests."

The first Test against Triple Crown winners Ireland is in Hamilton on 10 June, with the second match a week later in Auckland.

The 39-man squad is inclusive of a starting line-up of 15 players to take on Argentina in Buenos Aires on 24 June.

"We had to ensure the right combinations and sufficient leadership in each group so it isn't possible to rest Super 14 finalists in every position, but we have done so where possible," added Henry.

Jerry Collins has been named as captain against the Pumas, with 11 other squad members to be determined later.

Injuries to Sitiveni Sivivatu (knee) and prop Tony Woodcock (calf) mean they will miss the two-match series against Ireland but are included against Argentina.

A Junior All Blacks squad to play in the Pacific Five Nations series and a New Zealand Maori team were also named.

New Zealand squad to face Ireland: Jimmy Cowan, Clarke Dermody, Troy Flavell, Scott Hamilton, Carl Hayman, David Hill, Marty Holah, Andrew Hore (second Test only), Doug Howlett, Jerome Kaino, Byron Kelleher, Casey Laulala, Luke McAlister, Richie McCaw (captain), Aaron Mauger, Keven Mealamu, Mils Muliaina, Craig Newby, Ma'a Nonu, Anton Oliver (first Test only), Greg Rawlinson, Joe Rokocoko, Rodney So'oialo, Neemia Tialata, Ali Williams

New Zealand team to face Argentina: Leon MacDonald; Rico Gear, Isaia Toeava, Sam Tuitupo, Sitiveni Sivivatu; Luke McAllister, Piri Weepu; Tony Woodcock, Anton Oliver, Greg Somerville, Jason Eaton, Chris Jack, Jerry Collins (captain), Chris Masoe, Mose Tuiali'I

New Zealand Maori squad for Churchill Cup: Callum Bruce, Greg Feek, Ross Filipo, Hosea Gear, Jono Gibbes, Cory Jane, Jason Kawau, Tanerau Latimer, Zar Lawrence, Tasesa Lavea, Scott Linklater, Joe McDonnell, Deacon Manu, Luke Mahoney, Liam Messam, Mike Noble, Kristian Ormsby, Shannon Paku, Jake Paringatai, Chris Smylie, Anthony Tahana, Corey Tamou, Paul Tito, Pehi Te Whare, Thomas Waldrom

Junior All Blacks squad for Pacific Five Nations: John Afoa, Sosene Anesi, Ben Atiga, Steven Bates, Josh Blackie, Anthony Boric, Wyatt Crockett, Stephen Donald, Tom Donnelly, Tamati Ellison, Corey Flynn, Jimmy Gopperth, Campbell Johnstone, Johnny Leo'o, Hoani MacDonald, Cameron McIntyre, Jamie Nutbrown, Caleb Ralph, Kevin Senio, John Schwalger, Niva Ta'auso, Saimone Taumoepea, Anthony Tuitavake, Bernie Upton, Viliame Waqaseduadua, Nick Williams

Bracken called up for Irish tour
23 May 06 |  Internationals
Boss and Young get Irish call-ups
17 May 06 |  Internationals
McCaw handed All Blacks captaincy
12 May 06 |  Internationals

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability Sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other Sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us