BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Saturday, 20 August 2005, 11:53 GMT 12:53 UK
Australia 19-22 South Africa
Bryan Habana
Australia 19 (6)
Try: Rathbone
Con: Rogers
Pens: Giteau 1, Rogers 3
South Africa 22 (14)
Tries: Habana 2
Drop goals: Montgomery
Pens: Montgomery 3
A brace of Bryan Habana tries took South Africa to their first win on Australian soil since 1998 in a classic Tri-Nations match in Perth.

The Wallabies held the lead with 15 minutes to go, but Habana's second breakaway try stole victory.

The Springboks now top the Tri-Nations table and can seal the title if they beat New Zealand in Dunedin next week.

Injury-hit Australia, bottom of the table, have now lost four matches in a row for the first time in 24 years.

With South Africa dominating the scrum throughout the first half, Australia were up against it at half time.

When Percy Montgomery landed a 40-metre drop goal to stretch the lead to 17-9 with half an hour to play, they looked dead and buried.

But, roared on by a capacity 43,000 crowd at the Subiaco Oval, the Wallabies fought back magnificently.

It wasn't pretty, but we are really proud of the win
South Africa captain John Smit

Morgan Turinui broke the tackle of Andre Pretorius 30m out, drew the covering tackle and fed Clyde Rathbone for the try.

Montgomery hit the crossbar of the posts with another penalty attempt before Mat Rogers landed a penalty of his own to put the Wallabies ahead for the first time.

Australia laid siege to the Springbok line and almost broke through before Habana produced his second sensational pitch-length sprint of the match to snatch the lead back.

He had earlier given South Africa the best possible start with just three minutes on the clock.

When Phil Waugh lost the ball 10m from the South African line, Schalk Burger and Jaque Fourie spotted the overlap out wide and fed Habana, who went the length of the pitch to touch down.

We came up just a little bit short
Australia captain George Gregan

But Habana missed a far easier chance with half an hour gone when he spilt a pass with the Australian line at his mercy.

Australia were rocked just before kick-off when fly-half Elton Flatley was ruled out after complaining of double vision.

Mark Gerrard, Stirling Mortlock and Chris Latham were all sidelined earlier in the week.

The Springboks named the same 22 players that beat New Zealand 22-16 in Cape Town two weeks ago.

It was the first time they had used the same 22 for consecutive Tests since the 1999 World Cup.

Australia: Drew Mitchell, Mat Rogers, Clyde Rathbone, Morgan Turinui, Lote Tuqiri, Matt Giteau, George Gregan, David Lyons, Phil Waugh, Rocky Elsom, Nathan Sharpe, Daniel Vickerman, Al Baxter, Brendan Cannon, Bill Young
Replacements: Stephen Moore, Matt Dunning, Mark Chisholm, George Smith, John Roe, Chris Whitaker, Adam Ashley-Cooper

South Africa: Percy Montgomery, Breyton Paulse, Jaque Fourie, Jean De Villiers, Bryan Habana, Andre Pretorius, Enrico Januarie, Joe Van Niekerk, Juan Smith, Schalk Burger, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, CJ Van Der Linde, John Smit, Os du Randt
Replacements: Hanyani Shimange, Gurthro Steenkamp, Albert Van Den Berg, Jacques Cronje, Fourie Du Preez, Wayne Julies, Jaco Van Der Westhuizen

Jones jolted by Australia defeat
13 Aug 05 |  Internationals
Australia 13-30 New Zealand
13 Aug 05 |  Internationals
South Africa 22-16 New Zealand
06 Aug 05 |  Internationals
South Africa 22-16 Australia
30 Jul 05 |  Internationals

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability Sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other Sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport