BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Saturday, 23 October, 2004, 14:42 GMT 15:42 UK
Treviso 9-25 Leinster
Brian O'Driscoll scored Leinster's third try
Treviso (6) 9
Pens: Goosen 3
Leinster (11) 25
Try: Byrne, Horgan, O'Driscoll
Con: Holwell 2
Pens: Holwell 2
Att: 4,500
A nervous Leinster had to wait until the second half before finally seeing off a gutsy Treviso side.

Hooker Shane Bryne got Leinster on their way early on, but it took second half tries by Shane Horgan and Brian O'Driscoll to ease them home.

Leinster's Kiwi fly-half David Holwell twice converted and also knocked over a couple of penalties.

Treviso could not break the Leinster defence and their points came from a trio of penalties from Marius Goosen.

The Italians, unbeaten in eight home championship ties this season at the Stadio Comunale di Monigo, battled bravely for over an hour before wilting.

Having lost regular full-back Girvan Dempsey to a late stomach bug, Leinster looked ill at ease in the early stages and shipped two penalties by Goosen.

Leinster gradually crept into the game and Heineken Cup debutant Holwell punished Treviso for a silly offside in the 16th minute by converting a penalty.

The ageless Victor Costello, one of three current players to start Leinster's first European visit to Italy in 1995, gifted Holwell the leveller seven minutes later as he shunted Silvio Orlando backwards.

Leinster then found themselves 11-6 ahead at the break when their 33-year-old hooker Byrne was driven over.

Leinster lock Malcolm O'Kelly was sin-binned early in the second half and Goosen's third penalty reduced the deficit.

However, when they were at full-strength again, Leinster took over. Gordon D'Arcy made a searing break near the hour to put Horgan in at the right corner with Holwell brilliantly converting.

Then at the end, international wing Denis Hickie, who had switched effortlessly to full-back, ran all of 60 metres before offloading for O'Driscoll to seal Leinster's encouraging start.

Treviso: Williams; D Dallan, Pozzebon, Goosen, Legg; Smith, Troncon; Faliva, Ongaro, Constanzo, Klerck, Wentzel, Pavanello, Orlando, Parisse.
Replacements: Mazino, Sbaraglini, Gritti, Dal Maso, Palmer, Visentin, Carpente.

Leinster: D Hickie; Horgan, O'Driscoll, D'Arcy, Brown; Holwell, O'Meara, Corrigan, S Byrne, E. Byrne, O'Kelly, Cullen, McCullen, Jennings, Costello.
Replacements: Nebbett, G. Hickie, Gissing, Miller, Easterby, Contepomi, Lewis.

Referee: Nigel Owens (Wales)

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability Sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other Sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport