BBC Sport rugbyunion


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 16:47 GMT, Saturday, 2 January 2010

Saracens 15-22 Leicester

Saracens (6) 15
Pens: Jackson 3, Hougaard 2
Leicester (3) 22
Try: Hipkiss Con: Flood Pens: Flood 5

Dan Hipkiss is brought down by two Saracens players
Dan Hipkiss scored the only try of the game

Fly-half Toby Flood kicked 17 points as Leicester produced a fine second-half fightback to beat leaders Saracens.

The hosts were 6-3 up at half-time courtesy of two Glen Jackson penalties with Flood scoring the Tigers' points.

Derrick Hougaard extended the lead with a penalty in the 47th minute before Dan Hipkiss scored the only try of the game four minutes later, converted by Flood.

Sarries retook the lead through Jackson and Hougaard place kicks before Flood sealed the game with three penalties.

The seven-point deficit earned Saracens a bonus point, ensuring they still top the Premiership table despite a second successive league defeat.

They now have just a one-point lead over second-placed Northampton, while the Tigers moved to within four points of Sarries in fourth.

Although they dominated possession and territory in the first half, the visitors trailed at half-time courtesy of a strong defensive display from Sarries.

Scrum-half Justin Marshall saved a certain try from Scott Hamilton while Brad Barritt denied winger Lote Tuqiri with another solid tackle to ensure the hosts remained three points up at the interval.

Ex-South Africa international Hougaard, on as a blood replacement for Jackson, a minute after the break increased the lead to six points but the Tigers responded through Hipkiss.

A quick tap penalty from scrum-half Ben Youngs, complemented by powerful play from Leicester's pack, set up Hipkiss to bundle over from close range.


Flood put Leicester in front for the first time with the conversion, but a Jackson penalty soon after saw Sarries regain the lead in the 58th minute.

Two minutes later and the boot of Flood put the visitors in front - only to go behind once again minutes later to a Hougaard penalty.

The hosts' victory hopes were further damaged when captain Steve Borthwick was sin-binned for off-side 18 minutes from time.

And Leicester capitalised on their one-man advantage as Flood added three successive penalties.

Saracens: Goode, Penney, Ratuvou, Barritt, Wyles, Jackson, Marshall, Aguero, Ongaro, Nieto, Borthwick, Ryder, van Heerden, Saull, Joubert.
Replacements: Hougaard for Jackson (41), Rauluni for Marshall (62), Gill for Aguero (52), Brits for Ongaro (41), Botha for Ryder (54), Melck for Saull (60). Not Used: Mercey, Haughton.

Sin Bin: Borthwick (62).

Leicester: Hamilton, J. Murphy, Hipkiss, Allen, Tuqiri, Flood, B. Youngs, Stankovich, Chuter, Cole, L. Deacon, Parling, B. Deacon, Woods, Crane.
Replacements: Tuilagi for J. Murphy (50), Staunton for Allen (23), Newby for Woods (49), Ayerza for B. Deacon (43). Not Used: Davies, R. Harris, Kay, Grindal.

Sin Bin: Stankovich (38).

Att: 14,013

Ref: David Rose (RFU).

Print Sponsor

see also
Refs killing rugby, fumes Venter
02 Jan 10 |  Saracens
Sarries sign Bulls flanker Burger
30 Dec 09 |  Saracens
London Irish 23-19 Saracens
27 Dec 09 |  English
Leicester 32-6 Sale
27 Dec 09 |  English

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.