BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Sunday, 10 October, 2004, 18:10 GMT 19:10 UK
Leinster 35-13 Edinburgh
David Holwell
Leinster (10) 35
Tries: S Byrne, D Hickie 2, McCullen
Pens: Holwell 3
Cons: Holwell 3
Edinburgh (8) 13
Tries: Jacobsen, Lawson
Pen: Paterson
Leinster claimed their eighth straight win at Donnybrook by beating Edinburgh in a 35-13 Celtic League romp.

Second half replacement Denis Hickie made a big impact, scoring two tries in the Irish province's first win over Edinburgh in the professional era.

Shane Byrne and Aidan McCullen also scored tries for Leinster with Allan Jacobsen and Rory Lawson touching down for the Scottish side.

David Holwell kicked 15 points on his Leinster debut.

A Brian O'Driscoll midfield break in the fifth minute drew an infringement in the tackle and Holwell, formerly of the Wellington Hurricanes, opened with a neat 40-metre penalty success.

Chris Paterson then levelled with a straight-on penalty in the 10th minute.

A lovely wide pass from Paterson's half-back Mike Blair saw hooker Dougie Hall set up Jacobsen's try in the 14th minute.

Great handling

With Shane Horgan on the drift, Edinburgh hooker Dougie Hall laid on for 26-year-old Jacobsen to power over in the left corner, through the challenges of McCullen and Brian O'Meara.

In the 26th minute Leinster's Shane Byrne was mauled over from a line-out and Holwell added the extras to nick the lead at 10-8 and then moved Leinster five clear with a left-sided penalty.

Jacobsen showed great handling as his pass for Allister Hogg allowed Lawson to bring Edinburgh back level with just their seventh try of the season in the 54th minute.

At 13-13, Declan Kidney sprung Hickie and IRB World player of the year nominee D'Arcy from the bench, and Leinster powered clear.

Shane Jennings robbed a loose scrum ball in the 63rd minute and ferried it on for D'Arcy to send Hickie shuttling in at the left corner.

Holwell missed the conversion but crowned a 15-point debut as he converted both Hickie's second - a great interchange from D'Arcy and O'Driscoll sending the winger clean through - and McCullen's injury-time score.

Leinster: G Dempsey, S Horgan, B O'Driscoll, F Contepomi, G Brown, D Holwell, B O'Meara, R Corrigan (capt), S Byrne, E Byrne, M O'Kelly, L Cullen, A McCullen, E Miller, V Costello. Replacements: R Nebbett, B Blaney, B Gissing, S Jennings, G Easterby, G D'Arcy, D Hickie.

Edinburgh: Derrick Lee, Hugo Southwell, Marcus Di Rollo, Craig Joiner, Chris Paterson, Brendan Laney, Mike Blair, Allan Jacobsen, Dougie Hall, Craig Smith, Nathan Hines, Alastair Kellock, Todd Blackadder (captain), Allister Hogg, David Callam.
Replacements: Andrew Kelly, Joel Brannigan, Fergus Pringle, Simon Cross, Rory Lawson, Phil Godman, Michael Pyke

Referee: Nigel Williams (Wales)



The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport