BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Friday, 31 October, 2003, 21:45 GMT
Glasgow humbled by Leinster
Leinster were a class above Glasgow
Leinster were a class above Glasgow
Glasgow 10-31 Leinster

Glasgow's poor Celtic League form continued when they were clinically swept aside at Hughenden by their Irish opponents.

The home side had made a bright start but ultimately had few answers to the speed and power of the visitors.

They did, however, break the deadlock in the ninth minute with a Dan Parks penalty, with Brian O'Meara equalising.

Glasgow had two chances to edge back in front, but Parks was off-target with a drop-goal bid and another penalty attempt.

They were made to pay for the lapses as Leinster seized control before the break. They broke through with a try by wing Peter McKenna following a series of well-controlled phases.

O'Meara slotted the conversion from the widest possible angle then banged over two penalties from much easier locations to create a 13-point gulf.

Leinster upped the pace again after the restart to effectively kill off sloppy Glasgow with another touchdown.

This time McKenna was the provider, giving full-back Gordon D'Arcy the time and space to trot behind the posts to give O'Meara the formality of a conversion.

He followed up with penalty number four before Glasgow at last broke the Irish defence through substitute Rory McKay after a fine run by Gareth Maclure.

Calvin Howarth added the goal only to see Aidan Kearney snatch an interception try for Leinster at the other end.

Glasgow: Stuart Moffat, Sean Lamont, Graeme Morrison, Alan Bulloch, Rory Kerr, Daniel Parks, Sam Pinder, Matthew Proudfoot, Scott Lawson, Lee Harrison, Andy Hall, Nathan Ross, Roland Reid, Paul Dearlove (captain), Donnie Macfadyen
Replacements: Fergus Thomson, Euan Murray, Rory McKay, Andrew Wilson, Mark McMillan, Calvin Howarth, Gareth Maclure.

Leinster: Gordon D'Arcy, John McWeeney, James Downey, David Quinlan, Gary Brown, Matthew Leek, Brian O'Meara, Emmett Byrne, Gavin Hickie, Peter Coyle, Aidan Kearney, Ben Gissing, Niall Breslin, Shane Jennings (captain), Des Dillon.
Replacements: Niall Treston, David Blaney, Ciaran Potts, Niall Ronan, Brian O'Riordan, Peter McKenna, Daragh O'Shea, * Rob Connolly



The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport