BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Thursday, 23 October, 2003, 12:18 GMT 13:18 UK
Munster end losing run
Munster 26-10 Glasgow

Alan Gaffney guided Munster to last season's Celtic League title
Munster (10) 26
Tries: Mullins, Wallace.
Cons: Staunton 2.
Pens: Staunton 4.
Glasgow (0) 10
Tries: Moffatt, Morrison.
Att: 2,000

Munster ended a five-game losing run with a convincing Celtic League win over Glasgow in Cork on Friday evening.

It was sweet revenge for the Celtic League champions who suffered a 19-14 defeat by the Scots in the Celtic Cup three weeks ago.

Munster dominated throughout, but it took them a long time to translate their superiority into points.

Glasgow finished strongly, scoring a couple of consolation tries to make the scoreboard look a bit more respectable, but in truth they were comprehensively beaten.

Despite camping in the Glasgow half for most of the opening period it took Munster 37 minutes to edge in front when Jeremy Staunton kicked a penalty.

The home side then struck for their opening try in injury-time with Mike Mullins racing in from 30 metres, with Staunton converting for a 10-0 interval lead.

Wallace try

The second half continued in the same fashion with Munster on top in the forwards and they again pinned Glasgow back in their own territory.

Three more Staunton penalties increased their advantage to 19-0 after 55 minutes before Glasgow's frustration led to a couple of yellow cards.

At one stage the visitors were reduced to 13 players after Donnie MacFadyen and skipper Paul Dearlove were sent to the sin-bin for killing the ball in rucks.

Munster took advantage by scoring a second try after 69 minutes. Lions flanker David Wallace finished off a fine move to score under the posts with Staunton easily adding the extra points for 26-0.

Graeme Morrison and Stuart Moffat crossed for late Glasgow tries but they were little more than consolation efforts.

Munster: Dominic Crotty, Martin McPhail, Mike Mullins, Jason Holland, Mossie Lawlor, Jeremy Staunton, Eoin Reddan, Simon Kerr, Andy Long, Frank Roche, Trevor Hogan, Stephen Keogh, Denis Leamy, David Wallace, Jim Williams (capt). Replacements: Eugene McGovern, James Blaney, Donal Sheahan, Colm McMahon, Frank Murphy, Conrad O'Sullivan, Clem Casey.

Glasgow: Stuart Moffat, Jon Steel, Graeme Morrison, Sean Lamont, Rory Kerr, Daniel Parks, Kenny Sinclair, Matt Proudfoot, Simon Gunn, Lee Harrison, Andrew Hall, Joe Beardshaw, Roland Reid, Paul Dearlove (capt), Donnie Macfadyen. Replacements: Scott Lawson, Euan Murray, Nathan Ross, Rory McKay, Mark McMillan, Calvin Howarth, Alan Bulloch



The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport