BBC Sport cycling


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:43 GMT, Saturday, 22 May 2010 16:43 UK

Bradley Wiggins climbs to seventh in Giro d'Italia

Bradley Wiggins
Wiggins started the day in 10th place

Bradley Wiggins moved up three places to seventh in the Giro d'Italia overall standings after finishing 11th in Saturday's 14th stage.

Wiggins finished two minutes 25 seconds behind stage winner Vincenzo Nibali, who escaped on the descent of Monte Grappa to set up victory.

David Arroyo, who finished one place behind Wiggins, takes over the pink jersey from Richie Porte by 39 seconds.

Wiggins is 6:32 behind, with Nibali now a further 19 seconds back in eighth.

Nibali rode the 205km (127-mile) leg from Ferrara to Asolo in four hours, 57 minutes, 51 seconds.

The Italian made his decisive move at the start of the 40km Monte Grappa descent when he surged clear of a group comprising compatriots Michele Scarponi and Ivan Basso and Australian world champion Cadel Evans.

The Liquigas rider crossed the line with a 23-second cushion over Basso, Scarponi and Evans.

Kazakh Alexandre Vinokourov, who was unable to keep pace with the quartet up Monte Grappa, finished fifth, one and a half minutes adrift.

The 15th stage on Sunday is a 222km run from Mestre to Monte Zoncolan.

Stage 14 results:

1. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Liquigas) 4hrs 57mins 51secs
2. Ivan Basso (Italy / Liquigas) +23"
3. Michele Scarponi (Italy / Androni Giocattoli)
4. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing)
5. Alexandre Vinokourov (Kazakhstan / Astana) +1:34"
6. Branislav Samoilav (Belarus / Quick-Step) +2:25"
7. Bauke Mollema (Netherlands / Rabobank)
8. Damiano Cunego (Italy / Lampre)
9. Linus Gerdemann (Germany / Milram)
10. Marco Pinotti (Italy / HTC - Columbia)

11. Bradley Wiggins (Britain / Team Sky) +2:25"

Overall standings:

1. David Arroyo (Spain / Caisse d'Epargne) 61hrs 22mins 54secs
2. Richie Porte (Australia / Saxo Bank) +39"
3. Xavier Tondo (Spain / Cervelo) +2:12"
4. Robert Kiserlovski (Croatia / Liquigas) +2:35"
5. Linus Gerdemann (Germany / Milram) +3:52"
6. Carlos Sastre (Spain / Cervelo) +5:27"
7. Bradley Wiggins (Britain / Team Sky) +6:32"
8. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy / Liquigas) +6:51"
9. Alexandre Vinokourov (Kazakhstan/Astana) +7:15
10. Cadel Evans (Australia / BMC Racing) +7:26
11. Ivan Basso (Italy / Liquigas) +7:43
12. Michele Scarponi (Italy / Liquigas) +9:02

Print Sponsor

see also
Wiggins back in Giro contention
19 May 10 |  Cycling
Vinokourov maintains lead in Giro
17 May 10 |  Cycling
Millar moves into third in Giro
15 May 10 |  Cycling
Millar drops back as Sky impress
12 May 10 |  Cycling
Wiggins loses time in Giro crash
10 May 10 |  Cycling
GB & Team Sky set-ups face review
10 May 10 |  Cycling
Wiggins loses Giro d'Italia lead
09 May 10 |  Cycling
Wiggins wins Giro opening stage
08 May 10 |  Cycling
Cycling rocked by new dope probe
03 May 10 |  Cycling
Astana's Vinokourov wins in Liege
25 Apr 10 |  Cycling
Wiggins targets Giro opening week
07 May 10 |  Cycling

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.