BBC Sport cycling


Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 17:15 GMT, Sunday, 17 May 2009 18:15 UK

Protest overshadows Cavendish win

Mark Cavendish
Cavendish opens the celebratory champagne

Britain's Mark Cavendish won Sunday's ninth stage of the Giro d'Italia but the stage will not count to the overall classifications after a rider protest.

Riders were unhappy with the city centre course in Milan after Spain's Pedro Horrillo Munoz was seriously hurt in a crash during Saturday's stage.

"We did not believe the route was very safe for our health," said race leader Danilo di Luca.

"Because of this we asked and obtained an annulment of the ninth stage times."


The riders still cycled the 163km Milan course but at a leisurely pace rather than competitively, chatting to each other and waving to the crowds.

At one point the peleton stopped and addressed the crowd, a move which drew an angry reaction from many spectators, and despite the best efforts of the riders to present a united front, not all of them were convinced the action had worked.

"We have stood together, all united but in the end I think it was the wrong decision because you need to talk before the event," said Team Katusha's Filippo Pozzato.

"In my opinion we've made a mess."

Monday is a rest day with the 262-km 10th stage from Cuneo to Pinerolo due to take place on Tuesday. The race, which is celebrating its centenary this year, finishes in Rome on 31 May.

Stage nine results (Sunday):

1 M Cavendish (GB/Columbia) 4 hrs 16 mins 13 secs
2 A Davis (Aus/Quick-Step) same time
3 T Farrar (US/Garmin)
4 M Goss (Aus/Saxo Bank)
5 A Petacchi (Ita/Team LPR)
6 R Foerster (Ger/Milram)
7 R Hunter (SA/Barloworld)
8 D Vigano (Ita/Fuji)
9 S Haddou (Fr/Bbox - Bouygues)
10 T Fothen (Ger/Milram)
11 E Vorganov (Rus/Xacobeo)
12 B Swift (GB/Katusha)
13 S Hinault (Fr/AG2R)
14 R Marzoli (It/Acqua & Sapone)
15 J Rodriguez (Ven/Diquigiovanni)
16 D Grabovskyy (Ukr/Team ISD)
17 J Brajkovic (Slv/Astana)
18 M Renshaw (Aus/Columbia )
19 J Ljungblad (Swe/Silence - Lotto)
20 I Stannard (GB/Team ISD)

Selected others:

98 Bradley Wiggins (GB/Garmin)
158 L Armstrong (USA/Astana)

Overall standings:

1 D Di Luca (Ita/Team LPR ) 33hrs 13mins 35secs
2 T Lovkvist (Swe/Columbia ) @ 13 secs
3 M Rogers (Aus/Columbia ) @ 44
4 L Leipheimer (US/Astana ) @ 51
5 D Menchov (Rus/Rabobank) @ 58
6 I Basso (It/Liquigas) @ 1.14
7 C Sastre (Sp/Cervelo Test Team) @ 1.24
8 C Horner (US/Astana) @ 1.25
9 F Pellizotti (It/Liquigas) @ 1.35
10 D Arroyo (Sp/Caisse d'Epargne) @ 1.49

Selected others:

25 Lance Armstrong (USA/AST)
27 Bradley Wiggins (GB/Garmin)
151 Mark Cavendish (GB/Columbia)

Print Sponsor

see also
Horrillo out of coma after crash
17 May 09 |  Cycling
Hagen sprints to Giro stage win
15 May 09 |  Cycling
Scarponi takes Giro stage victory
14 May 09 |  Cycling
Menchov powers to Giro stage win
13 May 09 |  Cycling
Di Luca takes Giro fourth stage
12 May 09 |  Cycling
Petacchi grabs overall Giro lead
11 May 09 |  Cycling
Cavendish keeps overall Giro lead
10 May 09 |  Cycling
Cavendish nabs historic Giro lead
09 May 09 |  Cycling
Olympics not priority - Cavendish
04 May 09 |  Cycling
Armstrong expects Giro stage win
05 May 09 |  Cycling
Organisers unveil 2009 Giro route
15 Dec 08 |  Cycling
Armstrong opts to ride 2009 Tour
01 Dec 08 |  Cycling
Contador opts to miss 2009 Giro
28 Oct 08 |  Cycling
Contador claims historic Giro win
01 Jun 08 |  Cycling
Cavendish takes historic Giro win
23 May 08 |  Cycling

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.