BBC Sport cycling

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 18:34 GMT, Saturday, 28 June 2008 19:34 UK

Cooke claims ninth British title

Nicole Cooke
Nicole Cooke has won the title eight times in succession

Nicole Cooke out-sprinted Emma Pooley in Helmsley's Duncombe Park to win the British Road Race Championship for the ninth time.

The Welsh star's Halfords-Bikehut team took charge of the 106km Yorkshire race when Catherine Hare, Joanna Rowsell, Jessica Allen and Cooke broke away.

Only Rachel Heal and Pooley stayed with them, and Cooke, 25, had the speed to win the sprint from Pooley and Rowsell.

Cooke, from Wick near Bridgend, has won the title eight times in succession.

She is now just four short of Beryl Burton's all-time British record of 13 victories in the event.

British Road Race Championship, Helmsley, North Yorkshire:
1. Nicole Cooke (Halfords-Bikehut)
2. Emma Pooley (Specialized)
3. Joanna Rowsell (Halfords-Bikehut)
4. Jessica Allen (Halfords-Bikehut)
5. Catherine Hare (Halfords-Bikehut)
6. Rachel Heal (Tibco)

see also
BBC Sport Wales coverage
07 Aug 07 |  Wales

related bbc links:

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.