BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Friday, 22 July, 2005, 13:57 GMT 14:57 UK
Racewatch: Le Tour stage 19
Stage 19 in profile

Giuseppe Guerini has won the 19th stage of the Tour de France after a devastating break with just over a kilometre remaining.

The T-Mobile rider had joined a group of three who broke away from the peloton at 31kms.

At 153.5km, Friday's is the shortest road stage of this year's Tour but the 155 riders set a frenetic pace.

Lance Armstrong started the stage in the yellow jersey for the 80th time in his career.

Click refresh for latest updates (all times BST):

1610: Guerini takes victory.

1608: Guerini suddenly attacks - pulling out a gap of 60m.

1605: With little over 3km to go, the four leaders throw away their water bottles as they prepare for a sprint finish.

1556: Kurt-Asle Arvesen joins Chavanel and Commesso in chasing the leading four.

1548: With 19kms remaining, the lead group of four are two minutes 18 seconds ahead. Commesso has made yet another attack, and Sylvain Chavanel responds.

1529: Commesso continues to attack the chasing pack of 10 but they continue to regroup. But the leading gang of four continue to hold them at bay.

1516: Three riders have been lost from the chasing pack of 10.

1513: Oscar Pereiro Sio wins the final climb of stage 19, the Cote de Malaveille, followed by Sandy Casar and Giuseppe Gueini.

1457: Oscar Pereiro takes the fourth climb of stage 19, the Cote des Terrasses, with Giuseppe Guerini second and Franco Pellizotti third.

1451: The four leaders have a lead over the peloton of almost eight minutes with approximately 60km remaining.

1440: As the leaders continue to set a blistering pace, their advantage is extended to two minutes, with the peloton nearly six minutes back.

1431: The four-man leading group have stretched their lead over the chasing pack of 10 to one minute 40 seconds.

1425: The chasing group reaches the top of the Col des Pradeaux, 1 minute 20 seconds behind the leaders. Weening, Grabsch and Commesso all add to their points totals.

1423: The leading four reach the top of the third climb with Pereiro at the front claiming the 10 points, and Pellizotti, Guerini and Casar in close contact for their points.

1409: At the 64km mark the peloton is 3 minutes 55 seconds behind Casar, Pellizotti, Guerini and Pereiro. The leading four are 40 seconds ahead of Commesso and one minute 20 seconds ahead of the next 9.

1405: Salvatore Commesso breaks from the pack of 10 and starts to chase down the leading four on the Col des Pradeaux, the third climb of the day.

1355: Oscar Pereiro wins the first intermediate sprint at the 55.5km mark, with Franco Pellizotti second and Giuseppe Guerini third.

1353: Approaching the first intermediate sprint, the leading four are over a minute ahead of the peloton and 45 seconds ahead of the chasing pack.

1344: A gang of 10 riders splinters from the peloton in pursuit of the leading four at the 48km mark.

1337: The average speed for the first hour of the stage is 40.7kmh.

1335: Franco Pellizotti joins the breakaway trio.

1333: Oscar Pereiro Sio is first over the category three Cote de Saint-de-Eloy-la-Glaciere, followed by Giuseppe Guerini and Sandy Casar. The trio are 30 seconds ahead of the peloton at the 38km mark.

1329: Juan Manuel Garate and Kurt-Asle Arvesen form bridging duo between the leading three and the peloton.

1321: Sio Pereiro chases down Sandy Casar and Giuseppe Guerini.

1316: Jan Ullrich joins the breakaway before they are reeled in once again. Sandy Casar and Giuseppe Guerini try to escape again.

1313: A gang of riders have now escaped but are being closely pursued by the peloton.

1310: Christophe Moreau wins the first climb of the day, with Ronny Scholz second and Brad McGee third.

1308: Christophe Moreau and Ronny Scholz break away and are pursued by a bunch of eight riders.

1307: Roberto Heras chased down by a pack of about 10 riders and reeled back into the peloton.

1305: The peloton start the ascent of the first climb of the day, the Cote des Gerbaudias, and Roberto Heras builds a lead of 200m.

1259: Angel Vicioso attacks at 16.5km and is joined by Daniele Righi - but they are soon caught by the peloton led by the Francaise des Jeux squad.

1254: Antonio Flecha and Oscar Pereiro attempt to escape but are hauled back in a minute later.

1248: Alexandre Moos is caught by the peloton at the 8.5km mark. Egoi Martinez immediately launches an attack of his own but is quickly reined in by the pack.

1239: Alexandre Moos of Phonak launches an attack in the first kilometre and opens up 12 second lead on the peloton.

1230: The riders are in the neutral zone and getting ready to launch into action for stage 19.



The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport