BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Monday, 13 September, 2004, 16:41 GMT 17:41 UK
Jimenez takes stage victory
Jimenez was run over by a car in 2002
Jimenez was run over by a car in 2002
Eladio Jimenez of Spain, riding for the Comunidad Valenciana-Kelme team, won Monday's 10th stage of the Tour of Spain between Alcoi and Xorret de Cati.

Stuart O'Grady was second, with Spain's Oscar Freire in third. US Postal's Floyd Landis retains the overall lead.

Jimenez won the same stage four years ago but suffered a quadruple fracture of the tibia in 2001 and was then run over by a car in 2002.

"After all that has happened to me, this is fantastic," said the Spaniard.

Jimenez triumphed despite the riders having to make the final climb to Xorret de Cati under a shower of hailstones.

The conditions made for a tough day in the saddle during which Landis found it hard to stay with the pace.

As a result the American rider's major rivals have all made inroads into his lead.

Alejandro Valverde closed the gap to just eight seconds, while fellow Spaniards Francisco Manebo, Isidro Nozal and Roberto Heras also loom large at the top of the overall rankings.

Stage 10 results:

1 Eladio Jimenez (Sp) Kelme 4hrs 31mins 57secs
2 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Cofidis @ 0.32 secs
3 Oscar Freire (Sp) Rabobank @0.48 secs
4 Ruslan Ivanov (Mda) Alessio-Bianchi same time
5 Juan Fuentes (Spa) Saeco @ 1min 04secs
6 Jose Miguel Elias (Sp) Relax-Bergasol @ 1 min 10 secs
7 Erik Zabel (Ger) T-Mobile @ 1 min 50 secs
8 Jorge Ferrio (Sp) Paternina-Costa De Almeria @ 4 mins 06 secs
9 Alejandro Valverde (Sp) Kelme @ 4 mins 18 secs
10 Roberto Heras (Sp) Liberty Seguros

Overall Standings after Stage 10:

1 Floyd Landis (USA) US Postal 36hrs 23mins 52secs
2 Alejandro Valverde (Sp) Kelme @ 0.08 secs
3 Francisco Mancebo (Sp) IB Banesto @ 0.28 secs
4 Isidro Nozal (Spa) Liberty Seguros @ 0.31 secs
5 Roberto Heras (Spa) Liberty Seguros @ 0.46 secs
6 Manuel Beltran (Spa) US Postal @ 0.59 secs
7 Carlos Sastre (Sp) Team CSC @ 1min 34 secs
8 Denis Menchov (Rus) IB Banesto @ 2 min 41 secs
9 Aitor Gonzalez (Sp) Fassa Bortolo @2 min 49 secs
10 Angel Gomez (Sp) Paternina-Costa De Almeria @ 4 min 15 secs

Piepoli earns Spanish win
12 Sep 04  |  Cycling

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport