BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 24 September, 2003, 15:00 GMT 16:00 UK
Millar lands stage win
David Millar
Britain's David Millar, of the Cofidis team, won the 17th stage of the Tour of Spain on Wednesday.

Millar broke away on the Alto de San Jeronimo climb close to the end of the 188.4km stage between Granada and Cordoba and won by more than half a minute.

It is the third time Millar, who has also twice finished second this year, has won a stage in La Vuelta.

Spaniard Isidro Nozal, who rides for the ONCE team, maintained his overall lead.

Millar told Spanish television: "I planned to be in good shape for the last week of the Vuelta, but I'm better than I expected."

Millar said the victory would give him a boost before the world championships in Hamilton, Canada, next month.

"My big objective for the year are the world championships," he said.

"I love racing here and for me it has been an ideal opportunity to get some good racing and to prepare for the worlds."

The Scot is competing in the last of the three Grand Tours - following the Giro d'Italia and the Tour de France - in a bid to hone his competitive edge ahead of the World Championships in Canada next month.

Stage 17:
1. David Millar (GB) Cofidis, 3 hours, 58 minutes, 2 seconds
2. Alberto Martinez (Spa) Euskaltel, 0:36 behind
3. Oscar Sevilla (Spa) Kelme, same time
4. Unai Osa (Spa), same time
5. Michael Rasmussen (Den) Rabobank, same time
6. Erik Zabel (Ger) Telekom, 0:41 behind
7. Fred Rodriguez (US) Saunier Duval-Vini, same time
8. Angel Edo (Spa) Milaneza, same time
9. Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick Step, same time
10. Giovanni Lombardi (Ita) Domina Vacanze, same time

Overall Standings:
1. Isidro Nozal (Spa) ONCE, 58 hours, 11 minutes, 53 seconds 2. Igor Gonzalez De Galdeano (Spa) ONCE, 3:03 behind
3. Roberto Heras (Spa) US Postal Service, 3:09 behind
4. Manuel Beltran (Spa) US Postal Service, 5:16 behind
5. Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Kelme, 5:20 behind
6. Francisco Mancebo (Spa), 6:27 behind
7. Michael Rasmussen (Den) Rabobank, 7:29 behind
8. Luis Perez (Spa) Cofidis, 8:51 behind
9. Unai Osa (Spa), 8:57 behind
10. Felix Cardenas (Col) Labarca 2, 9:28 behind

Cardenas climbs to victory
23 Sep 03  |  Cycling
Valverde wins Spanish climb
21 Sep 03  |  Cycling
Petacchi wins again
20 Sep 03  |  Cycling
Zabel wins sprint
17 Sep 03  |  Cycling
Zabel edges out Petacchi
15 Sep 03  |  Cycling
Valverde takes stage victory
14 Sep 03  |  Cycling

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport