BBC Sport
 You are in: Other Sports: Cycling  
Sport Front Page
Rugby Union
Rugby League
Other Sports
US Sport
Horse Racing
Special Events
Sports Talk
BBC Pundits
TV & Radio
Question of Sport
Photo Galleries
Funny Old Game
Around The UK: 
N Ireland

BBC Sport Academy
BBC News
BBC Weather

  Saturday, 6 July, 2002, 14:33 GMT 15:33 UK
Racewatch: Tour prologue
Lance Armstrong
Armstrong is favourite to capture his fourth title
All the action as the Tour de France prologue individual time-trial takes place around a 7km course in Luxembourg.

The 189-rider field set off at one minute intervals, with three-time Tour winner Lance Armstrong off last at 1808 BST.

1 L Armstrong (US Postal) 9 mins 8.78
2 L Jalabert (CSC Tiscali) 9:10.52
3 R Rumsas (Lampre) 9:11.97
4 S Botero (Kelme) 9:12.6
5 D Millar (Cofidis) 9:13.48

Click "refresh" for updates (all times BST)

1817: Lance Armstrong obliterates the field with a ride of 9 minutes eight seconds around the 7km course in Luxembourg.

The three-time tour winner beat his nearest rival Laurent Jalabert by almost two seconds.

1816: Three-time tour third-placeman Spain's Joseba Beloki does not trouble the leading riders.

1813: Britain's David Millar goes fourth as Lance Armstrong gets to the first time check just off the pace.

1811: Fancied rider Christophe Moreau trails in well down as Laurent Jalabert shatters the lead.

1808: Lance Armstrong sets off.

1800: With only eight minutes to Lance Armstrong's departure the lead is changing hands with lightning regularity as the top riders compete to get in an early blow.

1758: France's Laurent Brochard goes second.

1755: Colombian Santiago Botero goes first followed very shortly after by a new second-place man Igor Gonzalez de Galdeano. US Postal climber Roberto Heras finishes in 12th.

1752: American Tyler Hamilton, of CSC Tiscali, comes home in sixth for now, in 9:26.

1744:'s Francisco Mancebo squeezes into third in front of Antonio Tauler as Belgian Tom Steels limps home well down the field.

1742: Francois Simon, one of last year's yellow jersey wearers, is on course, as is new French champion Nicolas Vogondy and American Tyler Hamilton.

1734: Another Australian sprinter, Robbie McEwen (Lotto), sets off as Antonio Tauler (Kelme Costa Blanca) edges into third.

1729: Australian sprint specialist Stuart O'Grady (Credit Agricole) finishes in a time of 9:31.

1724: Laszlo Bodrogi of Mapei-Quick Step shaves two tenths of a second off Brad McGee's time.

1706: Australia's Brad McGee (FDJ), winner of the Dauphine Libere time trial, sets a new fastest time of 9:21.

1702: The streets around Luxembourg are now dry and the crowds are out in force, lining the entire route.

1654: Russia's Viatcheslav Ekimov finishes in 9:27 to go eighth.

1650: Cofidis rider Inigo Cuesta blasts into the lead with a time of 9:23.

Andrea Peron (CSC Tiscali) is one second back, Rubens Bertogliati (Lampre) is two seconds behind and George Hincapie (US Postal) is six seconds adrift in fourth.

1644: Olympic time trial champion Viatcheslav Ekimov sets off in his 12th Tour de France.

1640: Rubens Bertogliati (Lampre Daikin) goes second with 9:25, one second behind leader Andrea Peron.

1635: Mikel Pradera (ONCE), who set the fastest time at 3.5 km, slows over the second half to come in seventh in 9:47.

1630: Andrea Peron, of CSC Tiscali, beats George Hincapie to take the lead with a time of 9:24, four seconds faster than the US Postal rider.

1628: ONCE's Mikel Pradera sets the fastest time of the day at the 3.5km mark of 4:10.

1623: South African Robbie Hunter goes third ahead of Abraham Olano, seven seconds behind Hincapie.

Rabobank's Bram De Groot is currently second with a time of 9:33. Seventy two riders have finished.

1615: US Postal's George Hincapie still leads with 9:29 after 66 of the 189 riders have completed the course.

1551: Lance Armstrong's team-mate George Hincapie edges out Carlos Sastre (CSC Tiscali) and Pedro Horillo (Mapei) for the lead with a time of 9:29.

1545: Abraham Olano (ONCE) is flying and sets the fastest time at the intermediate check at 4.3 km of 4:15.

1541: Spain's Abraham Olano (ONCE), the 1995 world road race champion and former world time trial champion, begins his race.

1529: The sun is now drying out the roads as Gonzalez de Galdeano set a fastest time so far of 9:49.

1527: Cofidis' Nico Mattan races home in 9:52 to edge out Marc Wauters, of Rabobank, and Norway's Thors Hushovd.

1521: Austrian Gerhard Trampusch, of Mapei-Quick Step, was the ninth rider to start and sets the best time so far of 10:00.

1519: Alvaro Gonzalez de Galdeano of ONCE begins, brother of Tour contender Igor.

1511: Auge sets the opening time of 10 minutes 28 seconds.

1508: A light drizzle begins to fall making the road surface slippery.

1500: The first rider, Stephane Auge, leaves the start hut.

All the actiion from the world's greatest bike race



Clickable guides

Star interviews
Links to more Cycling stories are at the foot of the page.

E-mail this story to a friend

Links to more Cycling stories

© BBC ^^ Back to top

Sport Front Page | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League |
Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Other Sports |
Special Events | Sports Talk | BBC Pundits | TV & Radio | Question of Sport |
Photo Galleries | Funny Old Game | N Ireland | Scotland | Wales