BBC Sport baseball

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 12:39 GMT, Monday, 20 October 2008 13:39 UK

2008 MLB review: AL continue All-Star dominance
Michael Young hits his sacrifice fly (left) and is congratulated by American League team-mates

The format of the mid-season All-Star Game continues to provoke discussions among fans - but its main significance remains that the winning team earns its league home field advantage in the World Series.

The 2008 contest - held at Yankee Stadium - was memorable in that it lasted 15 innings, the longest ever such game, and took up the best part of five hours.

The teams were eventually separated when Texas shortstop Michael Young's sacrifice fly off Philadephia reliever Brad Lidge drove in Minnesota first baseman Justin Morneau to score and win it 4-3.

The American League have won the All-Star Game every year since the winner was first awarded home field advantage in the World Series in 2003 - with the National League not having won it outright since 1996.

see also
American League win All-Star epic
16 Jul 08 |  Baseball

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.