Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 15:20 GMT, Sunday, 12 April 2009 16:20 UK

Derry 0-14 0-10 Donegal

Patsy Bradley (right) and Rory Kavanagh
Patsy Bradley challenges Rory Kavanagh at Maghera

Derry qualified for the Allianz National Football League Division 1 final after beating Donegal at Maghera.

Donegal's defeat ensures their relegation after Dublin hammered Westmeath to move above John Joe Doherty's side in the table.

Kerry's 2-15 to 1-11 win over Galway means that the Oak Leafers moved above the Tribesmen in the table.

Derry led 0-6 to 0-5 at half-time and with Mark Lynch in superb form, they pulled clear in the second period.

Donegal started with Brendan Devenney on the bench after his decision to rejoin the county panel.

The first half was tight with two superb Brian Roper points helping Donegal lead 0-4 to 0-3 only for scores from the lively Eoin Bradley, Enda Lynn and livewire Lynch giving the Oak Leafers a slender advantage at the break.

Two Jamie Kielt points and a superb Lynch free from near the sideline helped Derry move 0-9 to 0-6 ahead and Brian Og McAlary then stormed upfield from half-back to add another point.

Cassidy and Devenney entered the fray on 45 minutes but while Devenney initially won some useful possession, Sean Marty Lockhart was then introduced to mark the St Eunan's player and the switch worked well for Derry boss Damien Cassidy.

For most of the contest, the Donegal attack showed a complete lack of penetration, with their short-passing method invariably snuffed out by the Derry defence.

Only Michael Doherty frees were keeping Donegal's score ticking over although Doherty's troops were able to reduce Derry's lead to 0-12 to 0-9.

After a quiet first half, Enda Muldoon won some decent midfield ball in the second period which added to the good centrefield work done by Patsy Bradley throughout the contest.

The Derry defence had a scare with three minutes left when a high ball by Christy Toye rebounded off the woodwork and over the bar via Brendan Boyle's head.

But Donegal never really looked like getting on terms and Muldoon hit the final score as Doherty's side slid into Division 2.

Derry, meanwhile, will face Kerry in the Division 1 decider for the second successive year on 26 April at a venue yet to be decided.

Derry: B Gillis, J Keenan, K McGuckin, G O'Kane, B Og McAlary, B McGoldrick, SL McGoldrick, Patsy Bradley, E Muldoon, E Lynn, B Mullan, J Kielt, S Bradley, E Bradley, M Lynch. Subs: S McGuckin, K McCloy, SM Lockhart, P Cartin, C McKaigue, J Diver, P Murphy, E Brown, Paul Bradley.

Donegal: P Durcan, J Gallagher, N McGee, P McDaid, S McGowan, B Monaghan, M McGuire, B Boyle, C Toye, D Walsh, C Dunne, R Kavanagh (capt), B Roper, R Bradley, M Doherty.

see also
National Football League results
12 Apr 09 |  Gaelic Games
Westmeath 1-7 0-15 Donegal
29 Mar 09 |  Gaelic Games
Donegal 0-11 0-8 Tyrone
21 Mar 09 |  Gaelic Games
Galway 1-16 0-12 Donegal
15 Mar 09 |  Gaelic Games
Westmeath 2-10 1-15 Tyrone
15 Mar 09 |  Gaelic Games
Donegal 1-8 0-13 Dublin
08 Mar 09 |  Gaelic Games

related internet links:
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites


Sign in

BBC navigation

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.