BBC Home
Explore the BBC
watch listenBBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 26 September 2007, 16:58 GMT 17:58 UK
Ulster 11 in All Star nominations
Tyrone's Raymond Mulgrew
Tyrone's Raymond Mulgrew has been nominated for the first time
Eleven players from Ulster counties have been included in the 45 nominees for the 2007 Vodafone All Stars awards.

The awards see players selected for a team of the year in gaelic football.

Monaghan's Dessie Mone, Gary McQuaid, Damien Freeman and Thomas Freeman are named along with Conor Gormley, Raymond Mulgrew and Sean Cavanagh of Tyrone.

Derry also have three included in Kevin McCloy, Fergal Doherty and Paddy Bradley while Karl Lacey of Donegal is the other Ulster representative.


It is Cavanagh's fourth nomination in five years and he has got three awards so far.

Full-back Lacey also won an All Star last year but Derry forward Bradley, nominated for the third year in a row, has yet to win.

All-Ireland champions Kerry top the list with 10 nominations which include the three O'Se brothers Marc, Tomas and Darragh.

The county breakdown is: Kerry 10, Dublin seven, Cork six, Meath six, Monaghan four, Tyrone three, Derry three, Sligo two and one reach for Galway, Donegal, Louth and Kildare.

The final selection of 15 will be announced on 19 October.

The 2007 nominees are - Goalkeepers: Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Brendan Murphy (Meath), Diarmuid Murphy (Kerry).

Full-backs: Marc O'Se (Kerry), Kevin McCloy (Derry), Graham Canty (Cork), Darren Fay (Meath), David Henry (Dublin), Conor Gormley (Tyrone), Ross Donovan (Sligo), Dessie Mone (Monaghan), Karl Lacey (Donegal).

Half-backs: Tomas O'Se (Kerry), Aidan O'Mahony Kerry), Killian Young (Kerry), Barry Cahill (Dublin), Michael McNamara (Sligo), Noel O'Leary (Cork), Gary McQuaid (Monaghan), Damien Freeman (Monaghan), Caoimhin King (Meath).

Midfielders: Ciaran Whelan (Dublin), Darragh O'Se (Kerry), Nicholas Murphy (Cork), Fergal Doherty (Derry), Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone), Paddy Keenan (Louth).

Half-forwards: Declan O'Sullivan (Kerry), Paul Galvin (Kerry), Alan Brogan (Dublin), Bernard Brogan (Dublin), Anthony Moyles (Meath), Stephen Bray (Meath), Raymond Mulgrew (Tyrone), John Doyle (Kildare), Nicky Joyce (Galway).

Full-forwards: Colm Cooper (Kerry), Kieran Donaghy (Kerry), Thomas Freeman (Monaghan), Paddy Bradley (Derry), Donncha O'Connor (Cork), James Masters (Cork), Michael Cussen (Cork), Graham Geraghty (Meath), Mark Vaughan (Dublin).

Three Ulster players in All Stars
25 Nov 06 |  Gaelic Games

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Daily and weekly e-mails | Mobiles | Desktop Tools | News Feeds | Interactive Television | Downloads
Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

Help | Privacy & Cookies Policy | News sources | About the BBC | Contact us