BBC Home
Explore the BBC
| Help
Last Updated: Friday, 28 November, 2003, 20:59 GMT
Tyrone's magnificent seven
Peter Canavan was one of the seventh Tyrone All Star winners
Peter Canavan was winning his fifth All Star award
Tyrone claimed seven football All Star awards at Friday's gala dinner in Dublin.

Captain Peter Canavan, who was winning his fifth All Star, was joined in the team of the year by Cormac McAnallen, Conor Gormley, Philip Jordan, Sean Cavanagh, Brian Dooher and Brian McGuigan.

Armagh earned two awards with Francie Bellew getting the right corner-back slot and Steven McDonnell named at right full-forward.

McDonnell was also named footballer of the year while Sean Cavanagh picked up the young player of the year award.

Donegal captain Adrian Sweeney brought Ulster's haul up to 10 awards by getting the number 15 jersey.

Leinster champions Laois' emergence was rewarded with three awards.

Fergal Byron got the goalkeeper's jersey while Joe Higgins (left full-back) and Tom Kelly (centre half-back) also won awards.

Steven McDonnell had an outstanding year for Armagh
Steven McDonnell receives his player of the year award from Bertie Ahern

Declan Browne's sensational performance for Tipperary in the qualifier against Donegal at Croke Park helped earn him the left full-forward spot while Galway's Kevin Walsh got the second midfield slot.

Kilkenny's JJ Delaney was named hurler of the year while Cork's Setanta O hAlpin won the young hurler award.

The haul of 10 awards equalled Ulster's best ever All Stars night.

Back in 1992, Ulster collected 10 gongs following Donegal's All-Ireland title and Derry's National League title.

Canavan becomes the leading award winner from Ulster by moving one ahead of Tony Scullion and Anthony Tohill who have four apiece.

Cavanagh's young player award makes it three in a row from St Patrick's College in Armagh in the category following the success of Cormac McAnallen (2001) and Ronan Clarke (2002).

All Star Football team

Fergal Byron (Laois), Francie Bellew (Armagh), Cormac McAnallen (Tyrone), Joe Higgins (Laois), Conor Gormley (Tyrone), Tom Kelly (Laois), Philip Jordan (Tyrone), Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone), Kevin Walsh (Galway), Brian Dooher (Tyrone), Brian McGuigan (Tyrone), Declan Browne (Tipperary), Steven McDonnell (Armagh), Peter Canavan (Tyrone), Adrian Sweeney (Donegal).

Kilkenny claim eight All Stars
26 Nov 03  |  Gaelic Games

ALSO IN THIS SECTION Antrim crash out of Leinster SHC
Cavan hand debuts to five players
Justin McMahon fit to face Armagh
Tyrone hit by Coney injury blow

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport