BBC Home
Explore the BBC
watch listen BBC Sport BBC Sport
Low graphics|Help
Last Updated: Wednesday, 23 November 2005, 15:32 GMT
Portuguese start for Dakar Rally
Next year's Dakar Rally will start from Lisbon and is subject to new speed limits and safety measures.

The rally runs from 31 December to 15 January 2006, with 508 teams competing on a route through Spain, Morocco, Mali, Mauritania, Guinea and Senegal.

A limit of 150kmph (93.2mph) has been imposed on bikes and trucks to make the event fairer and safer.

The use of global positioning systems is also being reduced to make drivers and navigators rely on road books.

Two motorcyclists - two time winner Fabrizio Meoni and Jose Manuel Perez - died in this year's race.

Former world rally champion Carlos Sainz will be making his debut in the event, driving a Volkswagen Touareg.

Sainz to take part in Dakar Rally
22 Jun 05 |  Rallying
Rider Meoni dies in Dakar Rally
11 Jan 05 |  Motorsport

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

ALSO IN THIS SECTION Raikkonen buoyed by rally debut
Loeb secures sixth title in a row
Rally GB secures future in Wales
Rally star Loeb denied F1 chance

E-mail services | Sport on mobiles/PDAs | Headlines for your site


Back to top

Sport Homepage | Football | Cricket | Rugby Union | Rugby League | Tennis | Golf | Motorsport | Boxing | Athletics | Snooker | Horse Racing | Cycling | Disability sport | Olympics 2012 | Sport Relief | Other sport...

BBC Sport Academy >> | BBC News >> | BBC Weather >>
About the BBC | News sources | Privacy & Cookies Policy | Contact us
banner watch listen bbc sport